Chapter II

Lost Symphony

LOST SYMPHONY is a Progressive/Melodic/Symphonic Metal band that has become very active this year, but […]
By Kevin Lewis
October 26, 2020
Lost Symphony - Chapter II album cover

LOST SYMPHONY is a Progressive/Melodic/Symphonic Metal band that has become very active this year, but has roots stretching back to at least 2018. Their website has information dating back to April 2019 that claimed a lot of writing was going on. Releasing two full-length discs in one year indicates they were telling the truth. With all the guest musicians on the records, it must have taken time to coordinate a project of this magnitude. Chapter II was released on October 23, 2020 through XOFF Records.

LOST SYMPHONY is difficult to describe, even though they sound so familiar. A look at the guest roster explains why. Lots of well-known artists appear on this record, and it is a who's who of the metal world, including the late Oli Herbert of ALL THAT REMAINS. The compositions are amazing. Virtuosity is on display from start to finish. The sheer volume of notes per minute is astounding when the full ensemble is on a tear. This is also when they sound best.

The disc begins with "The World Is Over". The song begins with a solitary piano and some haunting spoken words. The piano is then joined by guitars to fill in a little more space. The drums enter gently, then the song kicks off properly. With a short violin interlude early on, the group shows a strong ability to shift into and out of gears at will. There is no hesitation or confusion. All the players are perfectly in sync. Transitions are seamless.

"Leave Well Enough Alone" is a guitar showcase. The intricate tones and interwoven fills and leads is chaotic in the best possible way. There is speed, there is delicacy. There is a drum beat underneath that somehow keeps up with the pace. That is a tremendous accomplishment. This song leads into "Negation Delirium", another fast-paced, guitar driven work of art. Again, the interludes of calm belie the frenetic pacing of the rest of the song, but they fit together so well.

At 9:04, "The Garden Of Earthly Delights" is the longest song on the record, and currently my favorite, though "A Murder Of Crows" and "The Long Wait For The End" also vie for that spot. Again, you have complex compositions with variable rhythms and changes in tempo. This is definitely on of the signatures of this band. Having heard this first, I will need to go back and listen Chapter I. This is a phenomenally talented group that I hope to see continue far beyond just two records.

9 / 10

Almost Perfect








When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"Chapter II" Track-listing:

1. The World is Over
2. Leave Well Enough Alone
3. Negation Delirium
4. No Exit
5. The Garden of Earthly Delights
6. Conflagration
7. A Murder of Crows
8. The Long Wait for the End

Lost Symphony Lineup:

Benny Goodman - Multi instrumentalist
Brian Goodman - Composer/Arranger
Cory Paza - Bass/Guitar
Paul Lourenco - Drums
Kelly Kereliuk - Guitar
Siobhán Cronin - Violin/Viola/Electric Violin
Guest Musicians:
Marty Friedman - Guitar (Track 1)
Jeff Loomis - Guitar (Track 1, 4)
Jason Costa - Drums (Track 2)
Conrad Simon - Guitar (Track 2, 5, 6)
Oli Herbert - Guitar (Track 3, 5, 6, 8)
Matt LaPierre - Guitar (Track 3, 5, 6, 8)
Jimi Bell - Guitar (Track 3, 4, 5, 7)
Joey Concepcion - Guitar (Track 3, 5)
David Ellefson - Bass (Track 4)
David Abbruzzese - Drums (Track 5)
Rusty Cooley - Guitar (Track 5)
Jon Donais - Guitar (Track 7)
Matt Bachand - Guitar (Track 7)

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram