Dialogues from Beyond


WORMED member Phlegeton creates spellbinding black metal under the moniker of LIFELOST, his latest band. […]
January 15, 2019
Lifelost - Dialogues from Beyond album cover

WORMED member Phlegeton creates spellbinding black metal under the moniker of LIFELOST, his latest band. From their Facebook page, it is "stormy black metal with an eerie and malevolent atmosphere, LIFELOST will drag you through the underworld. Those who walk in the light will see a great darkness..." "Dialogues from Beyond" contains five tracks.

"Malign Emenatio" leads off the album, with chaotic structures and an overly-treble production. The guitars and drums keep an equally ever-present structure while the vocals are not very high in the mix at all. It ends very abruptly. "Sepulchral Voice" is similar in meter but with a bit of a more harrowing edge. The madness continues until the end, when it sounds like someone is banging on something made of metal. "Released from Life" has a quick guitar fade-in and then it holds steady with a frightening riff and blast beat drumming. The subtle melodies do a nice job of pushing and uncompromising sound of Black Metal.

"Metanoia" opens with steadily picked guitars working in unison with one another. The drums keep a slow pace until the vocals some in, and then it's game over. There are some despondent notes here, like you are slowly drowning and there is no one in sight. But the vocals create a feeling of rage that is enough for you to fight. "Incorporeal Gate" closes the album, with a slightly more slower and deliberate sound. The harrowing elements are still very much present but the structure suffers somewhat here. The little repeated melody at the end is nice and gets your attention.

Overall, I found this to be a mediocre Black Metal release that doesn't offer much different than the thousands of bands out there trying to hold on to this traditional sound. For that purpose it gets the job done, but there is very little diversity from track to track, nor from this album to thousands of others that I have heard.

5 / 10









When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"Dialogues from Beyond" Track-listing:

1. Malign Emenatio
2. Sepulchral Vault
3. Released from Life
4. Metanoia
5. Incorporeal Gate

Lifelost Lineup:

Phlegeton - All Instruments, Lyrics and Voices

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram