LACRIMOSA has been around longer than some of our readers have. They formed in 1990 […]
By Metal Wim
April 1, 2022
Lacrimosa - Leidenschaft album cover

LACRIMOSA has been around longer than some of our readers have. They formed in 1990 and actually released their first album "Angst" in 1991. This is their 15th studio album, but they also have made three live albums. So, if this is your first time coming across these people, you have an awful lot of catching up to do. The fact that LACRIMOSA only consists of two people doesn't become too obvious when you listen to "Leidenschaft", but it shouldn't come as a surprise either. The sound they have is very open and transparent, as is very fitting for the brand of Progressive Gothic Rock that they play. Most of the songs have that subdued kind of sound and atmosphere that will get to you. With LACRIMOSA you will always be confronted with a very heavy dose of emotion, as that is the main ingredient they fill their music and lyrics with.

Even when they go hard and loud, like on "Kulturasche", they will switch between anger and emptiness as easy as from loud guitars and drums to just some piano. They also are not shy in changing languages. Tilo Wolff will always sing in German, whereas Anne Nurmi usually does it all in English, although I suspect there is also some Finnish on "Leidenschaft". No, LACRIMOSA hasn't found new grounds to use this time around. Well, they really never have, but the diversity they are capable of making us experience is, and always has been, one of the strongest points they have in their repertoire. And it makes for a very welcome variation to always listening to the full and overflowing sounds that some of the pure Heavy Metal bands shower us with.

Here you get the time to unwind, to have a good listen and to enjoy how emotions and softer sounds can still come through as heavy as the most intense Black Metal band. To me that is impressive, especially if you are able to keep this up for more than 30 years. And the biggest achievement LACRIMOSA have is that the quality they strive for has never wavered, and "Leidenschaft" is another example of how staying the same doesn't have to mean it gets stale. On the contrary, this will have you wanting more. Thankfully they have a back catalogue that is mote than impressive. Be brave an delve into it. I  guarantee you that you won't be disappointed.

8 / 10









"Leidenschaft" Track-listing:

1. Liebe über Leben
2. Führ mich nochmal in den Sturm
3. Kulturasche
4. The Daughter Of Coldness
5. Raubtier
6. Die Antwort Ist Schweigen
7. Celebrate The Darkness
8. Augenschein
9. Die Liebenden
10. Exodus

Lacrimosa Lineup:

Tilo Wolff - Vocals & Piano
Anne Nurmi - Vocals & Keyboards

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram