Songs for the Dead: Live at the Fillmore in Philadelphia

King Diamond

KING DIAMOND's noble reign in Heavy Metal has lasted since 1985. With his ubiquitous black […]
By Kyle Scott
February 7, 2019
King Diamond - Songs for the Dead: Live at the Fillmore in Philadelphia album cover

KING DIAMOND's noble reign in Heavy Metal has lasted since 1985. With his ubiquitous black top hat and dripping, cross of St. Peter corpsepaint, King Diamond is infamous as he is iconic in the metal scene. For years, he has painted disturbing pictures of wicked grandmothers, ominous horsemen and murderous babies from beyond the grave over the course of twelve albums. Formed from the ashes of MERCYFUL FATE (the first time they broke up) by King Diamond and fellow MERCYFUL FATE bandmates; ex-guitarist Michael Denner and ex-bassist Timi Hansen, KING DIAMOND has made a defining mark on the Horror Metal genre.

Playing live at the Fillmore Theatre in Philadelphia Pennsylvania, KING DIAMOND plays over an hour of the band's best material to a roaring crowd who are all too eager to sing along to hits like the first two tracks off of third full-length album "Them", "Welcome Home" and "Eye of the Witch". So many KING classics were played and enjoyed with sophomore album Abigail played in its entirety to the end of the show. For a kick of nostalgia for the olde days back in MERCYFUL FATE, KING DIAMOND added "Melissa" and "Come to the Sabbath" to their lineup.

King Diamond hasn't lost his edge or let his crown slip, putting on a solid performance with consistent, theatrical energy throughout the album, singing with his operatic vocal range that could make any 80s Power Metal vocalist green with envy. KING DIAMOND had every intention of burning the Fillmore to ashes that night with solos playing with wild abandon during songs like "Family Ghost", "A Mansion in Darkness" and "Black Horseman". You can hear the Fillmore crowd going wild with each new intro to an old familiar song and finally erupting in pulsing chants as the band ended the night with the instrumental "Insanity" from the fifth album The Eye. KING DIAMOND's dramatic and gore-filled songs are surely as eternal as Abigail's restless spirit.

10 / 10









When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"Songs for the Dead: Live at the Fillmore in Philadelphia" Track-listing:

1. Out from the Asylum
2. Welcome Home
3. Sleepless Nights
4. Eye of the Witch
5. Halloween
6. Melissa
7. Come to the Sabbath
8. Them
9. Funeral
10. Arrival
11. A Mansion in Darkness
12. The Family Ghost
13. The Seventh day of July 1777
14. Omens
15. The Possession
16. Abigail
17. Black Horsemen
18. Insanity

King Diamond Lineup:

Andy LaRocque - Guitars, Keyboards
King Diamond - Vocals, Keyboards
Mike Wead - Guitars
Matt Thompson - Drums
Livia Zita - Vocals
Pontus Egberg - Bass

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram