Allt þetta helvítis myrkur


 KATLA, an Icelandic Doom Metal band, adopted the name of their homelands most formidable volcano. […]
By Laura Glover
December 29, 2020
Katla - Allt þetta helvítis myrkur album cover

 KATLA, an Icelandic Doom Metal band, adopted the name of their homelands most formidable volcano. Such a bold name requires a bold album title to follow,  "Allt þetta helvítis myrkur", meaning "All This Damn Darkness"; was released November 13th, 2020. The album is a melodic doom sea of emotion. From atmospheric, trancelike notes; to lyrics sung in Icelandic to add to the haunting air of mysteriousness.

"Ást orðum ofar" - Leaning heavily on symphonic keyboard chords to set the trancelike stage for the murky cloud this brings you to. Slowly easing you into soft vocals, full of longing and emotion. Sounding almost dreamlike, this song lulls you into a meditative state. "Líkfundur á Sólheimasandi" - Soft, like a bride's veil. Wispy and airy, poignant like the blush of first love. This song makes your heart ache. For what? I think they may be a personal thing left for the listener to interpret thanks to these musicians. As they wrote this specifically to retain that mystery, as I stated above. A nice touch indeed. "Sálarsvefn" - This song dives right in with a deep sense of loneliness and loss, a feeling this writer is no stranger to. Rises and falls in musical crescendo, delicate symphonics; and aching vocals. This whole song has so much heart and soul.

"Vergangur" - Softly played guitar notes, yet almost a bit of a "Bate's Motel" aftertaste to that one. Lovely, yet slightly creepy. Sung along with semi clean vocals, with a tinge of growliness. The guitar solo in this song is key and makes the whole song. "Allt þetta helvítis myrkur" - "All that damn darkness", to which I can wholly agree! I feel the undertones of depression in this album theme, one I relate to strongly as I suffer depression and have most of my life. I appreciate this bands desire to connect with people on such a level.

KATLA has a strong taste of a deeply underground metal band, which happens to be a preference of mine. Albums such as these are where the true art form comes through and inspires the world so much if you find that connection with its content. I think this is an album for some people out there who may end up really loving and relating to the feelings it invokes. After all, music assuages the savage beast. Check it out.

8 / 10









When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"Allt þetta helvítis myrkur" Track-listing:

1. Ást orðum ofar
2. Villuljós
3. Líkfundur á Sólheimasandi
4. Sálarsvefn
5. Vergangur
6. Hvítamyrkur
7. Húsavíkur-Jón
8. Allt þetta helvítis myrkur
9. Svartnætti

Katla Lineup:

Einar Guðmundsson - Guitar, Vocals
Guðmundur Óli Pálmason - Drums

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram