Ever since their outstanding first release "Get Your Hands Dirty" to say I have been […]
By Charlotte "Lotty" Whittingham
May 2, 2015
Jettblack - Disguises album cover

Ever since their outstanding first release "Get Your Hands Dirty" to say I have been keeping High Wycombe Hard Rock quartet JETTBLACK under my music radar would be a huge understatement. It's evident they can bring a stadium like atmosphere to the tiniest venues with their memorable melodies consisting of powerful vocals, unblemished guitar work and rolling drums. They have made their mark on the Hard Rock scene via their strong live shows and equally influential releases; their latest one is "Disguises".

Being the band are a personal favourite of mind I had been eagerly awaiting a release from these rockers since "Get Your Hands Dirty" and "Raining Rock" can easily go down as Hard Rock classics in many years to come. I found "Disguises" to be a little different to their previous releases and I personally think it's a great thing.

The album appears to show the band's maturity within the music and there is more of a modern twist within it but not completely straying away from their stadium like sound which to most of their fans is what they are best known for. The best examples of that can be heard in "Posion Rain", "Disguises" and "Human"; that's my personal opinion anyway, feel free to disagree.

Another thing I like to see hasn't changed is the ability to create an album with different tracks to suit every mood under the sun. From the power ballad "Black & White" to the catchy single "Explode" there is something for everyone here.

Ending with the beautiful and my personal favourite track on the album "Smoke & Mirrors" has assured me this Hard Rock quartet are still going strong as it marked the end of a great album. For those hardcore fans of the band, expect something a little different yet familiar at the same time and for those fans of Hard Rock in general I highly recommend this remarkable specimen.

9 / 10

Almost Perfect

When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"Disguises" Track-listing:

1. Slaves
2. Explode
3. Poison Rain
4. Evidence
5. Disguises
6. Broken Bones
7. Black & White
8. Kick In The Teeth
9. Enemy
10. Human
11. Smoke & Mirrors

Jettblack Lineup:

Will Stapleton - Vocals, Guitars
Jon Dow - Vocals, Guitars
Matt Oliver - Drums
Tom Wright - Bass, Vocals

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram