Enfant De La Nuit


What's up, Metal maniacs? I'm here to give you an insight on some Doom...I mean, […]
April 21, 2016
Ixion - Enfant De La Nuit album cover

What's up, Metal maniacs? I'm here to give you an insight on some Doom...I mean, on this Doom Metal quartet; hailing from France: IXION, signed via Finisterian Dead End records.

Correction...that would be Doom and Gothic Metal fused into one being. IXION release "Enfant De La Nuit" as their third intuitive take on this combination from the get go..."Ghost In The Shell"; I really could sense this fusion. I never could fathom a duo of this genre before; but this is Metal, anything can be done if it sounds rightly to do so, and IXION have quality, skill and technique in accordance to make something this fascinating; that after reading this review, you'll want to check "Enfant De La Nuit" for yourself and intake a piece of the action.

Musically; this is a band that can put anything into the product and make it sound good, with actual rhythm, melody and mood. Julien Prat performs on all instrumentals with the additional guests – Thomas Saudray performing on extreme vocals, as well as additional keyboard notes and finally, Vannick Dilly, who takes on the clean vocal rendition. Instrumentally, I'd class this a one-man project, an excellent project that embodies a feeling of space-like atmospheres infusing a Gothic melodic to it.

Including the Doom sense as well, which is well noted in every song, I feel that this is quite an astonishing display of musical integrity that only one-man has produced. While Doom is the band's inquisition, ambience and electronic side effects transpires more of that initial mood throughout the entire album. "The Passenger", "Promised Land" evidently showcases all of these engrossing melodies that just have something special to them. Some nice groovy punch lines are felt, and more of the above just makes "Enfant De La Nuit" an utmost fascinating listen. "Oddysee" introduces the cleaner side of the vocals from Vannick Dilly, but keeps that groovy riff-tone in complete check. A brutal one as well. A brilliant end to "Enfant De La Nuit".

From "Alliegiance", "Discovery" to "Doom" and "The Shining", we have ourselves here musical melodies that can only keep the Metal in top-notch quality; with atmospheric greatness, brutal guitar tones and just almost-perfect musicianship, that leaves you wanting more.

Bottom line...if you love your Doom added on with a mix of Gothic adventures; you're going to love "Enfant De La Nuit" for what it is, take it with a grain of salt and enjoy some unheard of intrigues.<

9 / 10

Almost Perfect








When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"Enfant De La Nuit" Track-listing:

1. Ghost In The Shell
2. Allegiance
3. Discovery
4. Doom
5. The Shining
6. Children Of The Night
7. The Passenger
8. Promised Land
9. Oddysee

Ixion Lineup:

Julien Prat - All Instruments, Additional Vocals
Thomas Saudray - Extreme Vocals, Additional Keyboards
Yannick Dilly - Clean Vocals

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram