ISSA is Melodic Hard Rock Queen from Oslo in Norway. Formed in 2010 and released […]
By Katarzyna Zakolska
February 4, 2015
Issa - Crossfire album cover

ISSA is Melodic Hard Rock Queen from Oslo in Norway. Formed in 2010 and released such albums: "Sign of Angels" (2010), "The Storm" (2011) and "Can't Stop" (2012). "Crossfire" is the fourth album and has been carefully produced by John Greatwood (VEGA) and Vega ivory-tinkler James Martin. Release date of this new album is in Europe is February 20th / in North America is February 24th 2015. On the new album are such guests like: Daniel Palmqvist (XORIGIN), Alessandro Del Vecchio (HARDLINE), Steve Newman (NEWMAN), Robert Sall (WORK OF ART), Daniel Johansson (DEGREED), Stephen Chesney and choir including Pete Newdeck (IN FAITH/TAINTED NATION), Matt Black (FAHRAN) and Michael Kew (VEGA)

The great opener titled track "Crossfire" is with catchy chorus with ROXETTE echoes, spirit of the 80's years, Pop/rock influences, AOR rhythmic section and fabulous guitar solo! I love so much nice and beautiful track "Heartbeat" with modern sounds and VANILLA NINJA echoes. It's a very catchy and enjoyable track! Another killer track is "Ghost Inside My Heart" with amazing melodic refrain in high style. Very catchy sounds, AOR climate and what a guitar solo!

Worth to mention is that in ballad  "Raintown" Issa makes a duet with FM's vocalist Steve Overland. Gentle keys opens this song and then is wonderful building climate with higher commercial refrain! Great AOR climate and strong guitars in "Only You" reminds me of such bands like CHASING VIOLETS, ROB MORATTI and FOREIGNER. Melodic track with brilliant refrain and gentle sensitive voice! Fabulous AOR climate building by bass and drums and fine guitars are in "Long Time Coming", where is very melodic and memorable chorus together with energetic rhythmic!

Amazing enjoyable sounds with incredible keys are in "Red Lights", energetic rhythm and fine keys with stunning guitars are in "Electric Lights" which give incredible track with connecting nice voice of Issa. Powerful rhythmic section and melodic chorus are inside "We Rise" and calmer track with Hard Rock of the 80's is "Fight Fire With Rain" with really nice piano and great guitar solo!

This CD is full of killer tracks. Surely fans of ROXETTE, HEART and nice melodic sounds of '80 will love this new album of ISSA. Each of the tracks is a potential hit! "Crossfire" is for lovers melodic rock and AOR, also for everyone who loves spirit of 80's years. ISSA another time played great album on high level with full of melody and energy. Finally in my opinion this album is almost perfect. Highly recommend!

9 / 10

Almost Perfect

When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"Crossfire" Track-listing:

1. Crossfire
2. New Horizon
3. Raintown
4. Long Time Coming
5. Fight Fire With Rain
6. Heartbeat
7. Electric Lights
8. Ghost Inside My Heart
9. Red Lights
10. We Rise
11. Only You

Issa Lineup:

Nobby Norberg - Bass
Isabell "Issa" Øversveen - Vocal
Uli Kusch - Drums
Peter Huss - Guitars
Tim Larsson - Keys

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram