INSURRECTION are a Thrash/Death Metal band, hailing from the Netherlands. Formed in 2010, the band […]
By Andrew Sifari
March 9, 2015
Insurrection - Catatonic album cover

INSURRECTION are a Thrash/Death Metal band, hailing from the Netherlands. Formed in 2010, the band just recently released their debut EP, 2015's "Catatonic."

The band waste little time with opener "Armageddon," which seethes with malice from beginning to end. The band clearly prefer to shoot first and ask questions later, going for the gut from the word go on every track. The guitar team of Marten Hutten and Armand Venema play dexterously and intelligently, knowing when and where to add flair to their riffs, with leads of undeniable face-melting ability, while Douwe Talma drums with all the subtlety of an incoming rock slide. The band's spirited performance and sincere vitriol give that extra bite to numbers like the vicious title track and "Conspiracy."

The only real problem about "Catatonic" is that it's not as exciting as it could be. INSURRECTION undoubtedly have the skill as musicians, as well as a solid grasp of the style their going for. However, whether it is a result of the production, which is flawless to the point of near sterility, or the straightforward approach the band take through the course of the album, there aren't many dramatic moments that truly leave one breathless. Some come close, including the visceral leads on the aforementioned "Conspiracy," but they're not that show-stopping that it makes up for the so-so moments. The band's combination of Thrash and Melodic Death can be engaging and exhilarating at times, but playing it by-the-numbers too often can make it feel flat.

"Catatonic" is a solid release that bodes well for the band's future prospects, but they would definitely do well to try and diversify their approach a little bit. INSURRECTION are a promising band with the potential to dazzle with their aggressive, relentless music; they're just not there yet.

6 / 10

Had Potential

When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"Catatonic" Track-listing:

1. Armageddon
2. Catatonic
3. Exile
4. Conspiracy
5. Apotheosis
6. Moribund

Insurrection Lineup:

Douwe Talma - Drums
Marten Hutten - Guitars
Armand Venema - Guitars
Pieter Oevering - Vocals, bass

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram