The Slaughter


It's one thing to be young and talented and have huge name behind you, but […]
By Yiannis Dafopoulos
February 4, 2010
Incite - The Slaughter album cover

It's one thing to be young and talented and have huge name behind you, but it's another thing taking advantage of your father to make your own career. INCITE is band that has made metalheads think of these two facts and "The Slaughter" is probably the best way for me to see which one is true. Yes, you got it right. This is Max Cavalera's (SEPULTURA, SOULFLY, NAILBOMB, CAVALERA CONSPIRACY) son...

The band was formed in 2004 and I had the chance to get a small taste of Cavalera junior when his father got him on stage with CAVALERA CONSPIRACY to sing a song with him some years ago during their appearance on a Greek festival. After a self released EP and the management of Max's wife Gloria, the band managed to sign a contract with I Scream Records for the release of their debut full-length album "The Slaughter".

The band's music couldn't avoid featuring elements from Cavalera's career, so some SOULFLY stuff will be found in here, but the band has taken a more modern musical path, reminding of bands like HATESPHERE and FIVE FINGER DEATH PUNCH. Richie's vocals need some extra work since he actually just screams and has to develop a more personal style and learn to "color" the tracks with his voice, although there is no way you can call him a bad singer, he has actually "inherited" his father's energy behind the microphone. INCITE's most lethal weapon is Kevin McAllister, an incredibly talented guitarist that punched me in the face with his catchy, heavy as hell and aggressive riffs. The band is mostly based on its riffs, and with such a guitarist they surely have a solid ground to stand on. The one riff hits you after the other and you just try to understand where they come from!

All in all a nice, aggressive and groovy modern release that will surely please fans of such bands. "The Slaughter" is a more than decent step for these young guys, that should be taken as a whole and not Richie's band. Good luck guys!

7 / 10


"The Slaughter" Track-listing:
  1. Intro
  2. The Slaughter
  3. Nothing To Fear
  4. Army Of Darkness
  5. Time For A Change
  6. Divided We Fail
  7. Rage
  8. Tyranny's End
  9. Die With What You've Done
  10. Down And Out
  11. End Result
  12. Awakening
Incite Lineup:

Richie Cavalera - Vocals
Kevin "Dis" McAllister - Guitar
Luis Marrufo - Bass
Zak Sofaly - Drums

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram