Mortal Throne Of Nazarene (Reissue)


INCANTATION is a legend; it is a band that along with the likes of IMMOLATION […]
By Lex Mishukhin
October 7, 2013
Incantation - Mortal Throne Of Nazarene (Reissue) album cover

INCANTATION is a legend; it is a band that along with the likes of IMMOLATION and SUFFOCATION redefined American Death Metal. So imagine my excitement when I was told that I will get to review the reissue if their sophomore album "Mortal Throne Of Nazarene" and not as a "Retro Spot" feature (keep your eyes peeled for a new one of those btw), a classic of the genre released back in 1994, It was a rather problematic album for the band, with their label at the time not being happy with the final product and forcing the band to rerecord the entire thing. As this album is a reissue, I will skip the "track by track" review.

INCANTATION was certainly an unusual band for the genre, utilizing different rhythms and influences to create a more diverse almost Doom Metal sound, and this release is no different, mixing the classic Death Metal tempos and blast beats with the slower Doom Metal approach, deep growled vocals and fantastic raw guitar sounds. If I have one issue with this release it's the same one I had with the latest reissue from MANOWAR, for a reissued version, this album is as barebones as they come, no bonus material is offered. Darn shame I might add.

However, this is a remastered version which a sound production better than ever while still retaining the raw edge, and considering the original is (as far as I'm aware) out of print, this is a real classic of the genre for younger fans to sink their teeth into, so this is a very minor gripe, the album isn't perfect, but it is without a doubt a classic.

9 / 10

Almost Perfect

"Mortal Throne Of Nazarene (Reissue)" Track-listing:

1. Demonic Incarnate
2. Emaciated Holy Figure
3. Iconoclasm of Catholicism
4. Essence Ablaze
5. Nocturnal Dominium
6. The Ibex Moon
7. Blissful Bloodshower
8. Abolishment of Immaculate Serenity

Incantation Lineup:

Craig Pillard - Guitar / Vocals
John McEntee - Guitars
Jim Roe - Drums
Dan Kamp - Bass

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram