Majesty And Decay


I don't know why, but I have been always considering IMMOLATION as an underground band. […]
By Dimitris Kontogeorgakos
April 14, 2010
Immolation - Majesty And Decay album cover

I don't know why, but I have been always considering IMMOLATION as an underground band. They have been working since the late 80s making a really strong name among all the Death Metal lovers who liked to see further than the famous band names. After their very first demo release, somewhere in 1988, IMMOLATION have put together seven full length albums and now under the new record contract with Nuclear Blast they are ready to hit us for the 8th time. The new record contract could imply that the band is leaving -or has already left- the underground scene based on the fact that Nuclear Blast is the leading force among the Metal labels, having a really 'hot' artist list. Well, let's wait one and a half minute for the intro to finish and introduce us to the new IMMOLATION album and see what will happen...

"The Purge" is the album opener and gives the same impression that I got while watching NY based band on stage two years ago. IMMOLATION sound granite solid and aggressive to the core! Taking into account those two facts then, one can characterize "Majesty And Decay" as a successful album. And why shouldn't it be? I mean the band sets foot on the gas pedal and does not let go. Fast cutting edge guitars riffs, solid as hell drumming and vocals that breathe the glorious rotten air of Death Metal are the main and only elements that a core fan could ask for. IMMOLATION sound in top form and do what they know best; produce in-you-face music that literally grabs you by the throat and throws one blow after the other making the knock-out as the only way out.

In times some hearty MORBID ANGEL influences show up especially during the mid tempo parts of "Glorious Epoch" (love the guitar vibrato here) and in "Rapture Of The Gods" where the guitar work can justify some technical Death Metal finishing touches. Actually, those 'touches' are the only reason that one can blame IMMOLATION for, trying to escape from their roots and hence from the underground sound. If you think a little bit you will discover that this is a little of an oxymoron since all the successful bands eventually leave the underground scene behind.

In conclusion, one has to admit that this album is very good and without doubts meets the standards of an IMMOLATION release. If you haven't seen IMMOLATION on-stage you should know that they look/sound way better than in the studio. Don't miss them!

7 / 10


"Majesty And Decay" Track-listing:
  1. Intro
  2. The Purge
  3. A Token Of Malice
  4. Majesty And Decay
  5. Divine Code
  6. In Human Form
  7. A Glorious Epoch
  8. Interlude
  9. A Thunderous Consequence
  10. The Rapture Of Ghosts
  11. Power And Shame
  12. The Comfort Of Cowards
Immolation Lineup:

Ross Dolan - Bass, Vocals
Robert "Bob" Vigna - Guitar
Bill Taylor - Guitar
Steve Shalaty - Drums

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram