Manifest Destiny

Ice War

When I was 15 years old I had access to an eight track studio with […]
By Mike "Bitchin" Bourgeois
December 18, 2018
Ice War - Manifest Destiny album cover

When I was 15 years old I had access to an eight track studio with all the gear needed to record a song all by my self. The experience taught me the basics of multi track recording and various other studio skills. It also taught me that these recordings were only good for reference when I got into my first real band. Once I concentrated on only one instrument, my skill seemed to explode. I also learn outside opinions were desperately needed to help me fully flesh out the music I had in my head.  I think this is a lesson Jo Caitalicide needs to learn. From the moment "No Way of Turning Back" starts, it's obvious that he might be in over his head trying to fill all the roles himself, with bass and drums sounding uncoordinated, uneven transitions, and sorry dude, but your vocal range is non existent. For some reason though, I found the actual song, flaws and all, stuck in my head!

"Manifest Destiny", Canadian version was very MAIDEN-esq in nature but again the struggle is actually audible. Once again, I found myself with the friggin' song stuck in my head. I'm going to change things up here for the rest of this review. Rather than repeat myself for every song, I'm going to offer some production notes. Some times a cord or two will make a riff more energetic, such as in the opening for "Ride Alone", when he makes the change between each core note. A click track would tidy up "I Have No Name" "Light Shine On" needs someone to actually say calm down on your transitions and collect your thoughts. You need to try and un-complicate the fast section.

I can go on forever doing this, but I'm going to stop and offer some advice to help further your career. You have the ability to write sticky, ear-worming music. Now pull a Steve Harris, create a band you're in charge of, write the music, and most importantly, find someone who can tell you you're over reaching, draw it back a step. A producer, even if it's an old veteran of the road, will help you see things you aren't able to see yourself.

5 / 10









"Manifest Destiny" Track-listing:

1. No Way Of Turning Back
2. Manifest Destiny
3. I Would Die For You
4. Edge of the World
5. Light Shine On
6. Ride Alone
7. I Have No Name
8. The Labyrinth

Ice War Lineup:

Jo Caitalicide - Everything

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram