I Chaos

I CHAOS, you chaos, we all chaos, It's pretty much the idea of Death Metal […]
By Aaron "Five Magics" Price
December 23, 2015
I Chaos - Masterbleeder album cover

I CHAOS, you chaos, we all chaos, It's pretty much the idea of Death Metal is to ensue chaos. The mosh pits open up and chaos begins, but can I CHAOS cause this chaos? With their new album "Masterbleeder" they sure hope so, so sit back, relax and listen to the calming noises of pure anarchy.

The album starts off super fast pace with "Waking Hell" and "Ills of Flesh," while the former is a straight assault on your ears, it's the latter that shows the bands true skill as musicians between galloping riffs, heavy hitting blastbeats and of course, guitar solos. The song closes out with a heavy riff that should make anyone sitting at home headbang and is one of the only sections where the bass s highly noticeable, not to say it's just completely masked otherwise.

As "The Fallen Race" begins it's hard to tell what's to come. Will the song be a slow heavy "Scourge of Iron" style of song or will there be a break that causes this song to jump from 1 to 100 in no time. The truth is, this song sticks somewhere in the middle, instead of being a fast mosh song or a slow headbang song its somewhere in the middle that leaves you to decide what you want to do. The vocals are a brutal in your face attack, the riffs are pleasing to the ear, but in the end its another Death Metal song. No surprises, no bullshit, just violence.

Nearing the end of the album with "Glorious Defeat," "Bled Empty" and "Ending of A Lie" it's safe to come to the conclusion that maybe this is just another Death Metal album, which doesn't make it bad. All the songs are high paced attacks without much of a let up. The slower portions of any of the songs mentioned above are still faster than half the songs I listen to on a day to day basis, maybe I'm just a slow person or these guys just really like speed. As mentioned above, "Masterbleeder" is no surprises, no bullshit, just violence and for anyone who's a fan of Death Metal that should mark the beginning of a new band for you to listen to.

7 / 10


When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"Masterbleeder" Track-listing:

1. Waking Hell
2. Ills of Flesh
3. Instrument of Tyranny
4. The Fallen Race
5. Blinding Bias
6. Sublimation
7. Above All That Bleeds
8. Glorious Defeat
9. Bled Empty
10. Ending of a Lie

I Chaos Lineup:

Tobias Borra - Vocals
Rory Hansen - Guitars
Joost Van Der Graaf - Bass
Koen Herfst - Drums

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram