The Death of All Religions

Hypnotic Nausea

HYPNOTIC NAUSEA is an Experimental Heavy Rock band from Athens Greece. The band was formed […]
Hypnotic Nausea - The Death of All Religions album cover

HYPNOTIC NAUSEA is an Experimental Heavy Rock band from Athens Greece. The band was formed in August 2013 and in May 2015 they recorded their first album "Hypnosis" live in the studio attempting to capture the analog feel of their sound. The main focus was to create soundscapes, functioning as a highlight for their conceptual art ideas. Currently the band is set to release their second album ''The Death of All Religions'' through Ikaros Records. Partnership with the label resulted in a special vinyl edition which will be accompanied by a twenty-four-page comic strip. The strip and artwork for the record was created by their very own bass player George P. The album contains ten tracks.

"Holy City" is an opening eleven-minute beast. Some opening bells lead to an easy listening riff that is slightly melancholic. The rhythm of the song stays steady throughout, but the riffs change in layers, creating that soundscape that they talked about. In some ways, it reminds me of the Avante-Garde method that WITH OUR ARMS TO THE SUN employ in the music. Some lyrics come towards the end of the song. "Spiritual Alliance" is a short, two-minute song that is all about the ambiance. "Dogma" is a six-minute piece, with a similar rhythm and pattern to the opening track. I believe the spoken words are a snipet from a Dr. Martin Luther King speech. Again, the cadence stays steady through a few riff changes, but it's not much to get excited about.

"Silent Moment" is another two-minute ambient track that focuses on long-held keyboard notes, with little variation. "Outside" is a four-minute track that opens with bass guitar, some clean guitars and the sounds of nature. It moves slowly, like a snake slithering in the night's grass. The drums hold a soft cadence, and it's all about taking in your surroundings. "Crippled God" is another short instrumental that consists of some noise and some whispering. "Priest" is a nine-minute track that opens with a steady cadence and guitar riff. In many ways, the music reminds of Stoner/Desert Rock. Hypnotic passages extend for what seems like forever. There are vocals here, slightly gritty. The riff plods away on open notes, before keys come into play. I like the layering here, as it keeps building throughout. Towards the end it sound like some moans come into play.

"Faded Faith" is another four-minute track that opens with slow, ominous bass notes that have an air of charm to them. It's the first song where we hear hope, as opposed to fear and doubt, and other dark things. "The Death of all Religions" has a slow, doleful sound, as If draining the hope from your body slowly. The vocals are mesmerizing in their delivery. The moans are almost death comes to all religions what are we left with? Hope? Fear? "Inquietum Cor" is a softer, more introspective piece. It rolls along lightly, with bits and pieces being added along the way, before dropping off nearly altogether at around the half way mark. It's a sad song, but done in such a pretty method...the kind that makes your heart ache. Then, it takes a sharp turn into the darkness, with heavy guitar thuds and drum strikes. It reverts back to a doleful ending, reminding me of Post Rock Music.

Overall, I very much enjoyed the album. It has a combination of some Stoner/Desert Rock elements, some sad and depressing moments, and some joyous ones as well. They establish the sound through longer numbers where the riff builds and layers provide some texture, and some shorter ones that leave you wanting more. In many ways, the album title is reflected in the music. What would the collective world do without religion? To date it has only seemed to hurt us as a society, but does it provide a moral compass for us to follow? Look for your own answers to this question in "The Death of all Religions" by HYPNOTIC NAUSEA.

8 / 10









When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"The Death of All Religions" Track-listing:

1. Holy City
2. Spiritual Allegiance
3. Dogma
4. Silent Moment
5. Outside
6. Crippled God
7. Priest
8. Faded Faith
9. The Death of all Religions
10. Inquietum Cor

Hypnotic Nausea Lineup:

George B. - Guitars, Vocals
George P. - Bass, Synths
Nikos B. - Drums, Samples
Fotis G. - Lights, Video Art

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram