Hunt The Dinosaur

Coming out of Dallas, Texas is one of my new favorite bands HUNT THE DINOSAUR […]
By Brian "Metal" Morton
June 30, 2019
Hunt The Dinosaur - Dankosaurus album cover

Coming out of Dallas, Texas is one of my new favorite bands HUNT THE DINOSAUR and their latest release "Dankosaurus". If you have been searching long and hard for something that is completely different from what you are used to, look no further. HUNT THE DINOSAUR is the first band that I have heard that has successfully integrated Rap into Deathcore. Hunter is one of the fastest screaming vocalists I have ever heard in my life. When I first heard the single off the album I was left in a state of shock and awe. The guitarist Daniel is absolutely phenomenal as well as the drummer Trevor and bassist Nakoa. This band will blow your damn mind!

The first song on the album is "The Real McCoy" is a very Djent leaning song with a very deep rooting in Deathcore. This song is pretty down tempo yet completely in your face. The main things that stick out to me on this track are the drums and guitar. This song is completely sick. "Devil's Dandruff" is the next song on the list and it does not disappoint at all. It starts off pretty deep and then just kicks you square in the nuts. Hunter's vocal range is really amazing. He can do the highest highs and lowest lows, all while adding in rap. This is honestly what I feel like it would be like if you smoked weed with Satan himself.

"Spaced Out" picks up the pace keeping the heaviness while adding in some groove. This song completely bops and makes you wonder if you need to be headbanging or dancing.  Also if you haven't noticed, this album has quite a few weed references. This isn't even the beginning of all the stoner talk, but we will get to that later. The first single released was "Destructo" which was released quite a bit ahead of the album. This is the one that blew me the fuck away and it's not even the best song on the album, but it's up there. It is definitely one of the heaviest though. This is definitely our first look at what he can do as far as rapping goes. I dare anyone to try and tell me he doesn't do it the best out of anyone who has ever tried to do it. This song is absolutely insane and I will be listening to this probably until their next album comes out.

"Get up on my Level" was the second single released and they just keep bringing it. This song has so many styles in it and I love it. This is something I had been searching for and I didn't even know it. This album has brought so much joy to my little metal heart, it's hard to even begin to describe it. "D.T.F." is one of my favorite songs on the album because it's absolutely hilarious. It's lyrical content is straight out of a rap song such as "Sit up on my dick bitch, bounce on that shit, fuck me!". This song had me in tears. I have never heard a Metal song like this ever.

"Bloodshot" goes hard as fuck, this is one of the more brutal songs on the album. The musicianship on this track is utterly fantastic. The breakdowns will blow you away as well. The drumming is out of this world. "Couch Lock" is another song that leans heavy in the Djent realm. I think this song is really great especially since it's slower yet brutal as hell. I have very high hopes for this band.

"I Got a Lil' Bit of That" is one of the best songs on the album. It's another that plays on the rap side of the band. "I got a lil bit of that good weed, I got a lil bit of that good drink, I got a lil bit of that pussy, I got a lil bit of that yayo, I got a lil bit of that oh no, I got a lil bit of that hydro". I listened to this song on repeat for quite a while. I definitely bumped the fuck out of it in my car with all the windows down forcing everyone around me to listen to it as well.

The final song "Baked" is one of their more straightforward Deathcore songs. This song shows how versatile the band really is. The bass is definitely in the forefront which I really enjoyed. There is also an obligatory BLECH in the song. I think this whole album is fucking amazing. I really think this band is going to go places and I am very glad I will be able to watch this band grow over time and become even more badass.

10 / 10









When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"Dankosaurus" Track-listing:

1. The Real McCoy
2. Devil's Dandruff
3. Spaced Out
4. Destructo
5. Get Up On My Level
6. D.T.F.
7. Bloodshot
8. Couchlock
9. I Got A Lil' Bit Of That
10. Baked

Hunt The Dinosaur Lineup:

Hunter - Vocals
Daniel - Guitar
Trevor - Drums
Nakoa - Bass

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram