The Transcendence

Honeymoon Disease

While researching this band in order to do this review, I made the serious mistake […]
By Joshua Cummins
February 20, 2016
Honeymoon Disease - The Transcendence album cover

While researching this band in order to do this review, I made the serious mistake of googling "Honeymoon Disease". Do not do this. You will not find music. You will find mass links to STD's. Make sure to include the modifier "band" at the end. Your experience will be completely different from mine.

Describing themselves as purveyors in "Groovy rock n' roll", HONEYMOON DISEASE brings back the best of what the 70's had to offer. The closest description I could come to as far as their genre, would be retro modern rock. With a sound not dissimilar to old school KISS with the vocal stylings of HEART and a bit of LED ZEPPLIN attitude, HONEYMOON DISEASE bring it home with their newest album "The Transcendence". Even the album cover art is a throwback to the 1970's classic rock stereotype.

Not only is HONEYMOON DISEASE fronted by female vocalist Jenna, but the lead guitarist Acid is also of the female persuasion. The Gothburg, Sweden quartet, while keeping their sound in sync with what would be expected of a retro rock band, also manage to keep a modern feel to their music as well.

The albums first track, "Higher", starts out a bit slow but evolves into a strong tune. "Stargazer", showcases a bit more of the bands musical talents, with a bit more melody and a tighter arrangement than the albums first track. The opening riff of "Imperial Mind" is reminiscent of the KISS tune, "Let me go, Rock N' Roll", but evolves into it's own. "Gotta Move" is the hook of the album, with a chorus that grabs you and pulls you in. In contrast.

In closing, "The Transcendence" is worth every penny it costs. It is a throwback to a bygone era, missed by many. Arguably a living, breathing tribute to the music that inspired all of our favorite modern rockers. A reminder as to where the roots of heavy metal and rock in general are rooted.<

9 / 10

Almost Perfect

When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"The Transcendence" Track-listing:

1. Higher
2. Stargazer
3. Imperial Mind
4. Gotta Move
5. You're Too Late
6. Breakup
7. Bellevue Groove
8. Fast Love
9. Rock N' Roll Shock
10. Brand New Ending
11. Keep Me Spinning

Honeymoon Disease Lineup:

Jenna - Vocals, Guitar
Acid - Guitar
Nick - Bass
Jimi - Drums

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram