Delightful Sharp Edges

Hex A.D.

HEX A.D. is a Progressive Doom Metal band from Norway. Formed in 2011 their latest […]
April 28, 2023
Hex A.D. - Delightful Sharp Edges album cover

HEX A.D. is a Progressive Doom Metal band from Norway. Formed in 2011 their latest album is the band's sixth full-length album, and it has 11 songs. "The Memory Division" is the first, and it's a beast, clocking in at over 12 minutes. There is a long lead-in, and the opening tones are Proggy, from both the guitars and the old school "howling" keyboards with tons of vibrato. The vocals are smooth and somewhat Doomy. Much of the second half of the song is quiet, because how else would one fill a 12 minute opus? The sound comes back around towards the end. "Murder in Slow Motion" is more concise and straightforward. This slow mover has a groovy riff and downtrodden vocals. This song is more about the delicate atmosphere as the bass holds steady notes while leads are interspersed.

"...By a Thread" is more of a psychedelic offering, with heavily laden vocal effects and minimal instrumentation. I suppose it details a person's last "I don't give a fuck anymore" sentiment who is just done with it all. "Ghost Machine" is even shorter, and almost sounds like a theme song to a TV show. Four songs in, and we have a very diverse album. "Radio Terror" is another long and odd song. It takes a while to develop, but when it does, it has a hard driving sound that reminds me of BLUE OYSTER CULT. "St. Francis" is the shortest, at just over a minute. Quiet whispers of melody from organ notes play nicely with the rest of the album. It's odd, unique, and pleasing. "Throwing Down the Gauntlet" has big fat keyboard notes that mirror bass guitar notes. It's a darker offering, akin to the title.

"The Burmese Python" is a slow developer. A python slowly crushes their victims to death, and that is what this song does. It's a long time to death, but all things do come to pass in time. "Beyond the Venom Trail" is another very short song. Again, there isn't much going on here. "Hell Today" is both heavy and dark, and with harsh vocals to boot. One thing that the album isn't short on, is surprises. The sound changes a couple times, darting in and out of darkness and shadows into the light for just a few moments. "...Gone Tomorrow" closes the album. It might sum up the album best, with straightforward and regretful tones from someone who just doesn't care about the mistakes he has made in the past.

When I am evaluating and/or recommending an album to someone, I always try to figure out who their audience would be. This one has me scratching my head. I do believe that many Doom Rock/Metal fans would find this to their liking, as would some Prog heads. Some of the Psychedelic elements are probably what I like the most. You never know what's around the corner. But some of the songs are unnecessarily long without a lot going on. Still, it was an enjoyable listen.

7 / 10









When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"Delightful Sharp Edges" Track-listing:

1. The Memory Division
2. Murder in Slow Motion
3. ...By a Thread
4. Ghost Machine
5. Radio Terror
6. St. Francis
7. Throwing Down the Gauntlet
8. The Burmese Python
9. Beyond the Venom Trail
10. Hell Today
11. ...Gone Tomorrow

Hex A.D. Lineup:

Are Gogstad - Bass
Matt Hagan - Drums
Rick Hagan - Guitars, Vocals
Mags Johansen - Mellotron, Moog, Organ, Piano

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram