Live In London


In my book, H.E.A.T holds a particular price for being the most exciting live band […]
By Yngwieviking
February 8, 2015
H.E.A.T. - Live In London album cover

In my book, H.E.A.T holds a particular price for being the most exciting live band in the modern era of Scandinavian AOR, so let this union of talented young musicians bring you a slamming blend of melody, muscle and energy in the old mix of this classic style.

After four albums and a stability in the line up, it was time for them to release an official live album that includes 15 powerful hymns, in order to close down any remaining doubt about their supremacy!

With their latest "Tearing Down The Walls" they clearly establish themselves as an essential force of today Melodic Metal scene and this "Live In London" is the strong confirmation of this state of fact, the proof that they have found the perfect alliance between raw power and subtlety, finesse and nasty Rock attitude!

In my perspective, this duality is very rewarding, the highly acclaimed 2014's "Tearing Down The Walls" was exemplary, and in finding a new fresh creativity they succeed by stretching the borders of the genre, thanks to this evolution H.E.A.T proudly stands as a fierce, contemporary and enhanced contender to the throne, but still remain supremely faithful and orthodox in the typically Swedish style .

The Erik Gronwall's performances and vocal competencies are top notch, the hyperactive frontman reach in the live context his best profile giving all his heart & soul through his demented interpretation and a real jaw dropping interaction with the crowd!

H.E.A.T is musically at its peak...Now down to a Quintet, with only one guitar player, the sound of the band is now improved, much tighter ,it gives to the hotshot axeman Eric Rivers enough room to express his licks, shining under his skills of advanced technics, with some obvious comparisons with some of his elder from Sweden, because notably of the superb fluidity in his playing.

Mixed by Grammy award winning producer Tobias Lindell (EUROPE/MUSTASCH/AVATAR/HCSS), the sound is crisp and the mix quite realistic, while giving the sweat/adrenaline filled room sensation in a concrete and palpable feeling, the H.E.A.T is on...The alchemy between the swedes and the English audience is obviously effective with great action/reaction phenomenon , the mood is "sing along/party all night" and the ambiance is damn explosive, reaching it's climax with the already classic numbers like "Tearing Down The Walls"/"Mannequin Show" or "Late Night Lady".

The set list is particularly well balanced between the different era of the band career, switching from an anthem to another while finding an equilibrium of groove-laden songs with elegant keys, huge guitars riffs, hooks and even more hooks, from the burning opener song "Point Of No Return" merged with "A Shot At Redemption" to the old triumphal of "Better Off Alone", from the Hard Rock Hell character of "Inferno" to the closing classic duet momentum of "Breaking The Silence" and "Living On The Run"!

The Swedish combo is at the top of its glory and at the absolute apogee of their art, so don't miss this opportunity to witness this magical rendition of this sensational and blistering H.E.A.T!

9 / 10

Almost Perfect

When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"Live In London" Track-listing:

1. Point Of No Return
2. A Shot At Redemption
3. Better Off Alone
4. 1000 Miles
5. It's All About Tonight
6. Inferno
7. The Wreckoning/Tearing Down The Walls
8. Mannequin Show
9. Late Night Lady
10. In And Out Of Trouble
11. Downtown
12. Enemy In Me
13. Emergency
14. Breaking The Silence
15. Living On The Run

H.E.A.T. Lineup:

Eric Rivers - Lead Guitar
Jona Tee - Keyboards, Vocals
Jimmy Jay - Bass, Vocals
Crash - Drums
Erik Grönwall - Lead Vocals, Acoustic Guitar

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram