Tomb King


Metal maniacs, rejoice! I am proud to present to you: GRISLY; signed via VIC Records, […]
June 16, 2023
Grisly - Tomb King album cover

Metal maniacs, rejoice! I am proud to present to you: GRISLY; signed via VIC Records, hailing from Swedish grounds - performing Death Metal, on their 3rd full-length studio album entitled: "Tomb King" (released March 24th, 2023). Since formation in 2014; the quintet in question have only 3 full-length studio albums in their discography so far entitled: "The Spectral Wars" (released September 12th, 2018), "Salting The Earth" (released August 3rd, 2021) and this here 3rd album entitled: "The Tomb King" of which I am introduced to in their discography so far. 9 tracks ranging around 30 minutes; GRISLY arranges an intricately designed formula on some heavy-hitting Death Metal developments.

Opening up with this blistering barrage frenzy in amplified strife & rampantly rompy rumbles of reverberating tempo, monolithic sulphurate bombards eardrums with malevolently oppressive malignancy right off the baton within "Shadowborn". Rollicking remedy unleashes rapidly swift nimbleness & thudding sturdiness of organically piledriving substance from bludgeoning bassist Dennis Bloomberg, flickering his axe with thumpy execution amongst an amplified adrenaline in boisterously bouncy hookage... harnessing a heralding flamboyant tremble on sonically seamless slaps from hammering drummer Henke Lundgren within the rambunctiously slaying titular track. Relentlessly belting a berserking clobber in bulldozing heft; this savagely sinister maliciousness strikes with venomous pursuits of beatdown finesse and battering stompiness that melts faces ferociously.

"Hours Of Torment" forges a hybrid but experimental fabrication in catchy, instrumental haste... distilling a dense but fierce firepower expertise that's ruthlessly pandemonic & vehemently visceral. Utilising versatile synergy; this concretely gritty slabbiness solidly shreds with killer momentum, which showcases a distinctively distinguished guitar stability within twinning revvers Rogga Johansson & Håkan Stuvemark. Systematically swinging their steel with towering rips & technical maelstrom calamity, in which manifests with razor-sharp tonality... ramifying this volatile songwriting immensity, crafting a crunchy aesthetic amongst an extreme but melodic masquerade for good intrigue, especially in "The Key To Algernon" and "Framework To The Feast".

An archaic but anthemic conundrum in "Souls Last Cares II" captivates an immersive but flexible fundamental in this thrilling yet deathly, balladesque ritual of ominously jarring meticulance... slowing things down a notch to keep things unique & engaging... interjecting an atmospheric ethereality infused into it. Gnarly and grizzly elements implement an all guns blazing crescendo in the next frolicker: "Where Life's Denied", injecting an infectiously steely thump on stompy yet remedious gallops from hammering drummer Nicke Ohisson amongst a blackened attribute in a firing all cylinder strife that's savagely sinister whilst radically wicked for good measure... not to forget cordial and guttural growler whose name's unknown; yet expect deep, throaty raspiness that grumbles like a lion on the prowl to attack his prey with pure Death Metal prowess.

The penultimate banger "Cards To The Wild" & "The Purple Testament" both distribute a cavernous but deviant tone to it, as a chunky but impactfully impulsing intensity salubriously renegades with profusely robust systematics that's weighty, tight & punchy all in one riffing smash of persistently persevering Death Metal meatiness that's ground-breaking all around. Overall concluding "Tomb King"; I am compelled to say that the bottom line here is an enjoyably entertaining discovery in this justifiable subgenre certainly delivered an outdoing performance of pleasing brutality in which will start your day off rightly with. Worthy of spinning & replaying a good bunch of times, do check it out.

8 / 10









When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"Tomb King" Track-listing:

1. Shadowborn
2. Tomb King
3. Hours of Torment
4. The Key to Algernon
5. Framework to the Feast
6. Souls Last Cares II
7. Where Life's Denied
8. Cards to the Wind
9. The Purple Testament

Grisly Lineup:

Dennis Bloomberg - Bass
Henke Lundgren - Drums
Nicke Ohisson - Drums
Rogga Johansson - Guitars
Håkan Stuvemark - Guitars (Lead)

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram