Out Of Respect For The Dead


GRAVE - a Death Metal band from Sweden; originally as RISING POWER, then as DESTROYER, […]
November 6, 2015
Grave - Out Of Respect For The Dead album cover

GRAVE - a Death Metal band from Sweden; originally as RISING POWER, then as DESTROYER, then as ANGUISH, then finally after that... CORPSE. Possibly the world record for changing band names? (Probably in Death Metal.) But anyway, the now officially named GRAVE just released "Out Of Respect For The Dead", their newest album since 2012's "Endless Procession Of Souls". Now, if you're here for a new find or already are a previous fan, you'll be glad to know that this is a solid Death Metal tribute. From the beginning of the opening track "Intro/Mass Grave Mass" the inner "brutal face of approval" is unleashed, and this is already a band who has my official seal of approval. After jamming "Flesh Before My Eyes" and "Plain Pine Box" I noticed some Thrash Metal appeal, but doesn't most Death Metal have a nutty, Thrash Metal vibe to them? "Out Of Respect For The Dead", the title track, has a similar vibe, with such brute force!

Including amazing solos from Ola Lindgren and Mika Lagrén, as well as some incredible bass noise from Tobias Cristiansson, the equally epic pounding from Ronnie Bergerstål on drums tends to destroy my inner soul with pleasure. "The Ominous "They"" certainly shows that their skill in Death Metal is positively winning. If I'm honest - the album goes by so quickly that there isn't much else to say except that it's your traditional Death Metal album, with the band producing the music that GRAVE love. Death Metal listeners especially should give this album a go, and both old and new fans should definitely think about checking out.

I don't know why but I sense some DEICIDE vibes; even though I've only really listened to the album "In The Minds Of Evil" so far, I sense that similar craziness within the vocal transition. But hey, the more bands produce greatness like this, the better, right? "Out Of Respect For The Dead" is a fairly long album but as I begin "Defiled" the album showcases some interesting, and loud pounding drums and incredible bass solos. The inner brute in you should definitely appreciate these sounds. This track alone is worth checking at least.

The album is a Thrashtacular masterpiece and all Death Metal fans would most definitely miss out on something as masterful as this album is, if you don't check it out. "Trail Of Ungodly Trades" and "Grotesque Glory" end the album in fine Death 'n Thrash fashion. With the latter song being near 10 minutes long, this is the longest track on the album. As you might expect, things slow down a bit for a track this long, but the trademark brutally is still there. Solid sound production, "loud and proud" material, groovy elements... It has it all. Now enough reading, you be the judge. Check it out!

9 / 10

Almost Perfect

When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"Out Of Respect For The Dead" Track-listing:

1. Intro/Mass Grave Mass
2. Flesh Before My Eyes
3. Plain Pine Box
4. Out Of Respect For The Dead
5. The Ominous "They"
6. Redeemed Through Hate
7. Deified
8. Trail Of Unholy Trades
9. Grotesque Glory

Grave Lineup:

Ola Lindgren - Guitar, Vocals
Ronnie Bergerstål - Drums
Tobias Cristiansson - Bass, Vocals
Mika Lagrén - Guitars

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram