Ruling the Street Scene

Generation Landslide

When a band names themselves after an Alice Cooper song (Generation Landslide) and then writes a song in tribute to one of my all-time favorite musicians Phil Lynott (THIN LIZZY) I’m all in, so let’s see what these young upstarts bring to the table.
March 3, 2024

GENERATION LANDSLIDE came across my radar purely by accident and I not knowing much about them I’ll let the band’s press release tell their story: Bands start out with the same goal in mind - to go all the way. But 95 percent of them fall far short of that lofty goal. Whether it's lack of talent, motivation, chemistry or a combination of the three, face it, most bands just don't have the goods. Las Vegas native Anthony White took the band GENERATION LANDSLIDE, initially formed in Phoenix in the early 2000s and carried the name and idea around with him for close to two decades. Named after the classic ALICE COOPER song, they obviously had to have the extra bit of charisma and over-the-top showmanship to set themselves apart from the crowd. “Year after year and from one band to another, I felt like I was at the mercy of other people's ideas,” White reflects. “So, for a long time I kept thinking that one day I would be able to have a band and play the kind of music I heard in my head. As time went on, I knew who the right people were, it was just a matter of making sure they were available and also that they believed in the material I was writing.” In 2019, White decided to contact longtime friend and one time GENERATION LANDSLIDE member, drummer, Ken Koudelka to go into the studio to start putting his ideas together for what would become their debut album “Ruling the Street Scene” (released January 1, 2024). Producing the record himself as well as writing all of the songs, White finally felt like he had just the right material to make the record he had always in visioned. In 2021 while in the middle of a worldwide pandemic he reached out to another longtime friend and previous band member Jonathon Swanson (bass) who jumped back onboard immediately. The final piece came when White came across guitarist, Sandy Stein, who was referred by several mutual Las Vegas friends. Anthony now had all the elements that he was looking for to complete the lineup. The quartet's debut album is a whirlwind of 80s and early 90s influenced melodic rock, complete with ocean wide hooks, sing-along choruses and a "feel good" vibe that continues throughout the entire album.

Kicking off with the ferocious "Little Miss Lonely" is balls out from the opening madcap riff that delivers a delicious catchy chorus and, as advertised a melodic hair metal trip back in time to the 80’s “good time” party rock and roll with the razor sharp vocals bringing everyone to their feet. The next two tracks “Feel the Sensation” and ”Nite Time Magic” are straight out rockers with the guitars doing the heavy lifting bringing a simplified touch of modern metal in play with massive and relentless cacophony of galloping riffs and melodic fills that definitely keep us in the fast lane bolstered by the sharp, precisely balanced rhythm section and magnetic harmonies. I’ve never been a big “power ballad” guy, but when it’s done right it can be a very powerful addition to the albums musical panache, and so is the story with “Love and Pain”, a very heartfelt, emotional song displaying the ups and downs in every relationship and the emptiness of being alone (been there, done that). “Are You Out There” is a fabulous tribute to the late, great Phil Lynott of THIN LIZZY, “I always felt he was an unsung tragedy,” says Anthony White, and I personally could not agree more. Ending strong with “Standing in the Rain” a rumpus, chanting smash mouth rocker with accelerated chops and galloping, electrifying riffs all fused together by the stellar vocals

The only criticism I have of “Ruling the Street Scene” would be of the overall production, it was a little below standards, sounding at times muffled which could have taken away from the final product but fortunately did not as GENERATION LANDSLIDE delivered a wonderful debut album anyway.

8 / 10









When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"Ruling the Street Scene" Track-listing:


1. Little Miss Lonely

2. Feel the Sensation

3. Nite Time Magic

4. I’ll Keep Moving

5. Love and Pain

6. Are You Out There

7. Sweet Ellie

8. The City on the Edge of Forever

9. Me in You

10. Standing in the Rain


Generation Landslide Lineup:


Anthony White – lead vocals, lead guitar

Sandy Stein – guitar, vocals

Jonathan Swanson – bass, vocals

Ken Koudelka – drums, percussion

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram