The falcon from the German lands return, chanting, preaching the ancient myths and beliefs of […]
November 8, 2013
Falkenbach - Asa album cover

The falcon from the German lands return, chanting, preaching the ancient myths and beliefs of warrior long gone from this world, attributing to the Norse heritage, preserving a culture of heathenism. This has been the story of Markus Tummers aka Vratyas Vakyas of the one man project called FALKENBACH. Vakyas left the Austrian Napalm Records right into the arms of a label that has always suited quite him, the esoteric Prophecy Productions, for the release of his new "Asa" album. For a minute there I thought that I would be consumed by an unknown force that will reshape this "Asa" release into the flamboyant staggering Folk Metal arcane of the past, yet as it appeared on "Tiurida", Vakyas pretty much set his course into automatic pilot, ensuing similar enactments of atmospheric Viking / Folk / Black Metal. On the other hand, "Asa" looked as if several improvements were set in motion, thus aiding it to become better, a cool brittle soundtrack.

Virtually there weren't any dramatic changes in Tummers's songwriting methods, his pattern remained constant, dispatching tales in German, or even in an old Nordic language, partially shadowing his velvet like clean vocals, due to not such a decent mix, with an atmospheric music, sometimes turning harsh and bombastic in a Black Metal kind of manner, crusting it with well performed growls along with a few melodic skimps. There were several representations of melodic licks and a few melancholic soloing that were quite impressive, adding another layer to the well-known FALKENBACH decorations. However, "Asa" is a recurrence, same aspects voyaging around over and over, leaving nothing much to brag about. Surely that Tummers always had it in him to captivate the listener with his well-written stories, even if that same listener doesn't understand a word that is being sung. However, the music practically remained rather systematic. I admire the Folk meets extremity, which embroidered energies to the laid back aura surrounding the tracks, kick starting it. "En Lintinbluitin Faran...", which is one of the bonus tracks, pinched something inside and that is for the benefit of Mr. Tummers. Generally, the vast majority of songs were initially good, with several slips here and there, but on the same level of presence and impact.

"Asa" ended up being a stretch forward from the previous "Tiurida", which I remember was a bit of sham in comparison of FALKENBACH's early discography. When it comes to ambient Folk / Viking Metal, I look up the FALKENBACH musical directive. Throughout the years the experience generated by his album's got a bit tarnished, yet still he is one of the best in the business.

7 / 10


"Asa" Track-listing:

1. Vaer Stjernar Vaerdan
2. Wulfarweijd
3. Mijn Laezt Wourd
4. Bronzen Embrace
5. Eweroun
6. I Nattens Stilta
7. Bluot Fuër Bluot
8. Stikke Wound
9. Ufirstanan Folk
10. Beloved Feral Winter
11. En Lintinbluitin Faran...
12. Return To Ultima Thule
13. I Svertar Sunna Luihtint

Falkenbach Lineup:

Vratyas Vakyas - All Instruments / Vocals

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram