qEveryday I Die - Isolation - Metal Temple Magazine


Everyday I Die

What's up, Metal maniacs? I'm here once again to give you an insight; this time […]
June 29, 2016
Everyday I Die - Isolation album cover

What's up, Metal maniacs? I'm here once again to give you an insight; this time on EVERYDAY I DIE, hailing from the glory of Germany ...on their debut album: "Isolation" signed via 7 Hard Records.

I personally never understood why bands would use words like "I", "Me" or "My" (for example) when on insinuating a band title; but every quintet I discover who use this prospect, surprisingly manages to unleash some fascinating material. EVERYDAY I DIE are a new quartet who were born in 2014; with the help of SOILWORK frontman - Björn "Speed" Strid and with that help I dare say the band will inevitably get popular through this notion. Through a simple social media message; Patrick Kohlhaas and Björn connected and as SOILWORK were on a creative hiatus, hungry for a new prospective, Björn was productively active when demos from Patrick caught his attention. Positively enthused by email; Björn was hungry to work with Patrick and his new band: EVERYDAY I DIE was created. Quite the introduction eh? Though I've never really dived into SOILWORK, I can positively assure you EVERDAY I DIE are something special.

With melodic twists and turns - EVERYDAY I DIE feature an utmost unique venture with the debut "Isolation", even though my first listen I was stunned by what I heard. We have here a quartet that progressively have formed an atmospheric masterpiece of epic proportions. The founder: Patrick Kohlhaas is the mastermind here who performs the guitars, keyboards and all programming, as well as the joint combination of forming the band with SOILWORK's Björn "Speed" Strid on board, Claude Ewert on bass and Michael Stein on drums exploding this device with pure quality; while still a young band, EVERYDAY I DIE are for sure to surprise mutual fans across the globe. And with that said, let's dive in to give you that ever so craving insight you've been waiting for, shall we? And for those wondering the genre adjectives; let's just keep it Nu-Metal prospective here, mixed with everything Metal.

And so begins "My Day Will Be Done" which is how an opening track should always transpire in the Metal world; it begins with a thrashing tempo that sets the tone for the rest of the album, vocal ranges from brutal to emotional...it's safe to say you'll have your head's rattling about in no time flat. Tracks like "The Great Temptation", "Martyr" and "Drown In Red Water" showcase some atmospherically fine momentum that give off this scent of elaborate ruse in the making. The track to feature SOILWORK's Björn "Speed" Strid (in the video embedded) is the titular track: "Isolation" which ranges perfect harmonies and rhythms that collide in a speed of light commotion. Keyboard melodies and guitar tones brutalized; mixed with an atmosphere that is just spot on for this kind of genre. Everything just feels fresh and has this unique sound that I, personally crave in Metal totally.

"The Tears That I Once Cried", "Revolution" and "Everyday I Die" feature emotional harmonies that keep the sound heavy as hell and fresh which implements the elementary forces in question as it converges into oblivion. Many unheard of shenanigans make this record one of the most unique listens I've acquainted myself with in 2016. "An Unfounded Tragedy" and "Welcome The End" magnificently end the album on a high note with similar profound intentions to previous; but while the album feels quick to finish, its songwriting, memorability and originality make that justified to listen to again and again. I can only commend the minds at EVERYDAY I DIE for creating a production that defines power and intellect in the music of a duo that seemed like brothers in the creation. Not only is "Isolation" an album for everyone; it positively is an almost masterful piece of art. Do check it out.

9 / 10

Almost Perfect








When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"Isolation" Track-listing:

1. My Day Will Be Done
2. The Great Temptation
3. Martyr
4. Drown In Red Water
5. Isolation
6. The Tears That I Once Cried
7. Revolution
8. Everyday I Die
9. An Unfounded Tragedy
10. Welcome The End

Everyday I Die Lineup:

Patrick Kohlhaas - Guitars, Keyboards and Programming
Claude Ewert - Bass
Michael Stein - Drums

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram