United States of Mind


Coming straight from Italy, ENTAIL is a four piece Nu-Metal/Metalcore group who just released their […]
By Calen Nesten
May 17, 2015
Entail - United States of Mind album cover

Coming straight from Italy, ENTAIL is a four piece Nu-Metal/Metalcore group who just released their second studio album: "United States of Mind" early in 2015. All in all, it's a pretty standard Metalcore album, the vocalist screams over a blasting breakdown until the whiny melodic part kicks in. Lather, rinse repeat. With that said, they don't sound bad, they just don't stand out much among their genre.

However, one thing that does stand out is the way the guys in  ENTAIL play with the idea of adding more electronic influence in their songs with tracks like "Lost" adding a little dubstep/house into the equation and "All Ways" which nicely ties the electronic with the more classic Metalcore sound. "United States of Mind" is a thoughtful album though, ENTAIL deals with themes of self-reflection and the complexities of human emotions and thought, a point driven home by the album's lovely artwork. With everything considered, "United States of Mind" has the sound and feel of early 2000's Metalcore. The vocals may be a little campy or lackluster at times but the sound remains relatively solid throughout.

The riffs and solos were exciting enough for me to enjoy this album a couple times through and they do some interesting effect work. "United States of Mind" can be a great album for fans of KILLSWITCH ENGAGE, TRIVIUM, ATREYU and all those other melodic Metalcore bands I never listen to. So if you are into those bands, just tell me to shut up and give ENTAIL a try. I'll be listening to SLAYER.

3 / 10


When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"United States of Mind" Track-listing:

1. Lost
2. The False Shepherd
3. Beyond Blackening
4. Nostalgia
5. Necessary Evil
6. All Ways
7. U.S.O.M.
8. Think Before You Speak
9. Bitter Smile
10. Oceans Between People and Gods

Entail Lineup:

Paolo - Vocals
Fra - Guitar
Franz - Guitar
Bors - Bass
Matt - Drums

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram