Symphony of Cerberus


“Symphony of Cerberus” is a brilliant standalone album which is distinct from its sister “Cerberus” and yet still shares tendrils of common DNA.
June 24, 2024

Symphonic Metal and Folk Metal bands are known to release instrumental-only versions of their albums from time to time. Typically, they simply strip out the non-symphonic elements, rendering the tracks down to a classical orchestral version like a soundtrack. These editions are usually offered at the same time as the general release. What is unusual is for a band to take an already successful release and then spend a year to create a symphonic-only piece adding in new elements and elevating the original vision to a whole new level. This is what ENCHANTYA has done with “Symphony of Cerberus” (April 26, 2024; Inverse Records), a reimagining of their 2023 release “Cerberus.”

If the title “Symphony of Cerberus” wasn’t a giveaway, the cover art by Pedro Daniel of Phobos Anomaly Design is another massive hint. The artwork cleverly replicates motifs from the cover of its sister album, “Cerberus.” In this version, however, instead of a stately queen seated upon a throne against a backdrop of blood-red mountains, there now sits a lone violin on the same throne against a backdrop of exploding fire and lava. The message is clear—in “Symphony of Cerberus” the queen is the symphony.

“Symphony of Cerberus” follows the original “Cerberus” track by track but is much more than just the same songs without electric guitars. It has been “revamped for orchestra and choir . . . with a few surprises including solo violins arranged and performed by violinist and composer Miguel Berkemeier, who has been accompanying the band on live shows throughout this era’s tour.”

I’m a sucker for choirs and violins, so my favorite tracks were the eerie “Collective Souls,” the epic “Alone,” and the pensive “Rising Star” which are replete with haunting strings and evocative chants. For returning fans and the curious, I should also mention the instrumental tracks from “Cerberus”—“Karma,” “Prana,” and “Anima”—are also re-imagined on the new album. They are still instrumental, but with additional layers and nuances.

As one might expect, the production values of “Symphony of Cerberus” are exceptional. With no distortion or over-saturation that comes with electric instruments, the album has a natural brightness and crispness to it. Credit to Fernando Matias at The Pentagon Audio Manufacturers who mixed and mastered the album.

Frankly, I was not expecting to enjoy this album nearly as much as I do. I was initially curious as to why the label would offer it up for review if it was just a stripped-down version of the original album. It only took one track for me to realize what I was dealing with. “Symphony of Cerberus” is a brilliant standalone album which is distinct from its sister “Cerberus” and yet still shares tendrils of common DNA.  

10 / 10









When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"Symphony of Cerberus " Track-listing:

1. Karma

2. All Down in Flames

3. Lunar Fire

4. Alone

5. Prana

6. Rising Star

7. Existence

8. United We Stand

9. Anima

10. Collective Souls

11. Sons of Chaos

12. Inward


EnChanTya Lineup:


Rute Fevereiro – Singing and Growls

Fernando Campos – Lead Guitar

Fernando Barroso – Bass

Pedro Antunes – Piano, keys, and orchestration

Bruno Guilherme – Drums


Compositions - EnChanTya

Orchestra arrangement – Pedro Antunes, Fernando Matias and Fernando Barroso

Choir Ana Macedo, André Nogueira, Beatriz Teixeira, Cátia Marques, Chris Santos, Frederico Gavaia, Joana Sousa, João Reis, Luís Vieira, Pedro Antunes and Tanya Martins

Violin – Miguel Berkemeier

Additional vocals – Rute Fevereiro


linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram