This is the first full-length album by the Gothic/Symphonic Metal band out of Belgium. They […]
By Jean-François ''Jackal'' Poulin
July 19, 2019
Elusion - Singularity album cover

This is the first full-length album by the Gothic/Symphonic Metal band out of Belgium. They released the ''Desert of Enticement'' EP back in 2016. They are officially having a Release party event in September for this new album in the town of Genk. One thing to note is they have one great special guest in the name of Bjorn ''Speed'' Strid from SOILWORK that appears on two songs including the great ''Lovelorn''. That's a pretty awesome feat to have him add some guest vocals on a new band like ELUSION. You also have Peter Evrand from 10 ROGUE that does some guest vocals, which is a band I am not at all familiar with though.

Awesome cover art, it really goes with the genre, very reminiscent of bands like WITHIN TEMPTATION and EPICA. Good work and I always get a kick out of great cover art. They are going to tour throughout Europe after the release party and I sure hope they are going to have a lot of success; they are a very promising band. The Belgium quartet are very reminiscent of the mammoths in the genre like DELAIN, WITHIN TEMPTATION and EPICA. Though they fortunately don't overuse the operatic vocals and stick to the basics. That's why I consider this band closer to what WITHIN TEMPTATION has been doing the last 20 years or so.

You have the presence of the more basic classical components but used with modern technology. You have a bit of growling but not too much and it's definitely something very prominent in other Gothic Metal bands out there. Even though you don't have that energy of bands like the aforementioned, this Metal style is really one of the more accessible metal subgenre. The songs are very upbeat and highly atmospheric; you really have a mood that sets in from the opening strings. You have the presence of some pretty Powerful female lead vocals and my favorite song is ''Reconciliation of Opposites''. With a blend of guitars drums and dual vocalists, this song is the most powerful example of what this band brings to the table. It's an ambitious new band with some really high hopes. I hope they reach their full potential and have a longstanding career before them.

8 / 10









When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"Singularity" Track-listing:

1. Choices and Chances
2. The Tales That Trees Tell
3. The Strive
4. Lovelorn
5. In Eternity
6. Reconciliation of Opposites
7. My War Within
8. Crystal Doubts
9. Anamnesis
10. The Strive (Spankraght Remix)

Elusion Lineup:

Evy Verbruggen - Vocals
Domingo Smets- Guitars and Vocals
Frederik Van Mieghem - Drums
Kristof Degreef - Bass

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram