El Caco

When one thinks of Norway and their contribution to the alternative music scene, you think […]
By Laura Cosheril
February 1, 2016
El Caco - 7 album cover

When one thinks of Norway and their contribution to the alternative music scene, you think of corpse paint, church burnings and satan. Well, this is where EL CACO come in to break all of your stereotypes to the ground. EL CACO are a Rock trio from Norway. Now, you may be wondering "what is a Norwegian band doing with a Spanish name?", I have to admit, that it what I thought, I'm still not quite sure about the answer.

The album starts off with a funky QUEENS OF THE STONE AGE type rendition. It's spunky, aggressive and catchy, I must admit I am quite surprised. The slight accent in Osa's vocals is actually quite enjoyable and even with the accent, it's extremely easy to hear the lyrics and sing along if you are that way inclined.

But, alas, all good things must come to an end. If you listen to the first track and get excited because you think you're in for a treat (much like myself) then you are in for disappointment. Unfortunately from the second track the album goes downhill. Musically it becomes boring and vocally it becomes almost out of tune. It's like they wanted to tease us, the only great track on the album is the very first one which also, frustratingly, happens to be one of the shortest.

Another massive pet peeve about this album is the fact that every track is like listening to a different band, but a different mediocre band. As the end of the album draws near, you feel bored and fed up. Throughout the entire album the only solid aspect is the bass, it is satisfyingly audible and played very well despite the rest of the album falling apart.

A courageous effort from these Norwegian rockers, but unfortunately they missed their target. For now I will stick to playing "Curious" in the hopes that their next release will be steady and, frankly, better.

4 / 10

Nothing special

When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"7" Track-listing:

1. Curious
2. Sickness
3. Ambivalent
4. Reach Out
5. The Silver Light
6. In Limbo
7. In Space All Huge Beasts Just Seem Tiny
8. Those Possessed

El Caco Lineup:

Osa - Bass & Vocals
Anders - Guitars
Fred - Drums

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram