Behind The Light

Either Way

This is a French band that plays melodic metal with bucket loads of flair and […]
By Sgt Slayer 666
November 17, 2015

This is a French band that plays melodic metal with bucket loads of flair and drama. There are so many different elements to what this band does on this album and so many influences shown, it comes across in a pretty cool way.

The track "Always Look to the Star" is a good opener for the album giving a nice broad stroke of what they are about. There are plenty of cool riffs and leads reminding that cool feeling inside as a soaring guitar lead takes you to heaven. "Black Soul" opens with a very nice piano intro before a guitar comes in and speeds it up into a nice solid rocker.

There's lots of layers in their songs and huge range of colours. This is melodic metal with the technical side of that with an almost gothic edge to it, reminding me of H.I.M and MARILYN MANSON in some ways.  "Evil In Me" is a great example of this. It's not just the vocal style, but also the rhythms and many different layers of melody and instruments.

"Faces" almost has a 80's Euro Pop background, which is quite different, but it meld in quite nicely. The next one up is "Scarecrow", which is a song that drives along, gets the head nodding, and you singing along to the chorus.

"Trouble in My Mind" is a great way to close the album. Swirling haunting keyboards, guitar destruction and growling vocals round out a pretty good release.

One of the things I like about this album is that, although it's all the same genre, each song sounds different rather than just a rehash of the same themes and style. Invention is the key, being creative and making each song unique and independent. They do some rather random stuff but mostly it comes across as a treat.<

9 / 10

Almost Perfect

When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"Behind The Light" Track-listing:

1. Across The Light (Intro)
2. Always Look To The Star
3. Black Soul
4. Evil In Me
5. Faces
6. Phoenix
7. Red Eyes
8. Redemption
9. Scarecrow
10. Trouble In My Mind

Either Way Lineup:

Ciszewski Ludovic - Bass, Vocals
Cervoni Jean-Michel - Guitar
Pelletier Fabrice - Guitar
Cauchy Baptiste - Drums

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram