Torches Will Rise Again


DRAKUM is an Epic Death-Folk Metal band from Barcelona in Spain. The band was formed […]
By Katarzyna Zakolska
March 9, 2015
Drakum - Torches Will Rise Again album cover

DRAKUM is an Epic Death-Folk Metal band from Barcelona in Spain. The band was formed in 2009 and released demo "Around The Oak" in 2010 and album "Torches Will Rise Again" on 15th November 2014.

The title track has unbelievable energy - keys, stronger riffs make it as a kick-ass track! Nice Symphonic opener "From Earth to Victory" opens this album dramatically and grabs you from the start. I like very much "Around the Oak" with amazing power, violins, bagpipe - I love these sounds! Growling vocal mixing with melodic sounds! Choir is in fantastic style with powerful & battle-evoking! The drumming is amazing and these Folkish elements give true thrill.

Melodic "Spirit" has stronger riffs, energy, growling, melodic violins, pulp of drums and epic choir. Nice bagpipe, flute, growling with melody and beautiful, melodic violins and Melodic Death Metal echoes can be found in "Shadow of Time". Melodic "Song for Your Death" has inside heavier riffs with gentle violins, bagpipes and in refrain has lovely melodic clear choir in the background.

Worth a listen are also: "The Wanderer" in Folk Metal climate, bagpipes, power and great guitar solo, "Whisky" where fast sounding drums remind me of KORPIKLAANI songs and growling vocalist do it with many melody and here is also brilliant guitar solo and "Absinthe" with pipes, violins, growling and fantastic melody - total heaven!

The new album of DRAKUM is highly recommended for every Metalhead who wants to experience an eclectic mix of Death Metal, Folk Metal, Viking Metal with doses of melody and Power. They have certainly set themselves a high standard with this album and have brilliantly accessed a wide array of sonic spectrums. The debut album of these Spanish Metallers is definitely worth a listen.

8 / 10


When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"Torches Will Rise Again" Track-listing:

1. From Earth to Victory
2. Around the Oak
3. Whisky
4. Shadow of Time
5. The Wanderer
6. Spirit
7. Song for Your Death
8. Absinthe
9. Embers of Tomorrow
10. Torches Will Rise Again

Drakum Lineup:

Marc Martínez - Guitars
Feni - Guitars
Caleb - Violin, Backing Vocals
Javi Crosas - Vocals, Harp
Jose Luis Parreño - Bass, Backing Vocals
Xavi Puiggalí - Drums
Albert Orozco - Keyboards, Backing Vocals
Üri Bokskog - Tin/Low Whistle, Galician Pipe

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram