From Rotterdamn comes the Deathcore band DISTANT and their first full length "Tyrannotophia". This album […]
By Brian "Metal" Morton
May 12, 2019
Distant - Tyrannotophia album cover

From Rotterdamn comes the Deathcore band DISTANT and their first full length "Tyrannotophia". This album is absolutely incredible and one of the most brutal albums I have had the chance to review. Be it the insane Guitar work from Nouri Yetgin and Vladimir Golic, or the brutal drumming from Shainel Ramharakh and the sick bass lines from Elmer Maurits, or even the gutterals from Alan Grnja, this band is one of the sickest bands in the Deathcore scene right now. If you have never listened to them, you need to change that right now!

The album begins with the track "The Blind Prophecy" which is a ripping fifty five second intro. This song gives you a glimpse into what to expect throughout the entire album. It's definitely a great way to start off an album. "Zeroten" is chock full of pig squeals and the best down tempo sludgy hate filled Deathcore you can ask for. This song will have you on edge from the second it starts. I definitely listened to it several times before continuing through the rest of the album.

"False Gods" starts off with some of the deepest chugs on guitar I have heard in quite a while and transitions into a heavy hitting death fest. This song makes me feel like it's dragging me through the deepest and darkest pits of hell with no end in sight. It is by far one of the best songs on the album. "Abhorrence" sounds completely different for the first few seconds. I was wondering where they were going to go with it and then it just slams you right into the ground. If you are a fan of THY ART IS MURDER you will enjoy this track.

"Tyrannotophia" is a more extreme track than previous songs. This song will absolutely pummel your ears with how intense it is. I am pretty sure my ears started bleeding within the first few seconds of it starting. "Chasm of Despair" is a creepy and doom sounding instrumental that leaves you with a feeling of... You guessed it, despair. They really made the name of the song come to life and that was pretty sick. "Hollow Eyes" continues with the sense of despair and desolation. This song is written beautifully and it is one of my favorites off the album. It's almost a four and a half minute breakdown. This song is absolutely brilliant.

"The Enslavement" jumps right into sheer and unrelenting brutality. This song does not let up for a single second for you to catch your breath. "Heirs of Torment" is phenomenal and down tempo as fuck. This song will have you feeling like you have smoked something that is speeding you up but at the same time slowing you down. "Endgame" is another short but insane track. For the full minute and a half this song was on, I was definitely jamming out. This is actually the end of the album except they added a bonus song called "Inside Out" which will blow your headphones out so be careful. This is a song you will want to listen to on a nice system. This album was incredible. I couldn't ask for more from DISTANT at all. I can't wait to hear what they come out with next!

10 / 10









When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"Tyrannotophia" Track-listing:

1. The Blind Prophecy
2. Zeroten
3. False Gods
4. Abhorrence
5. Tyrannotophia
6. Chasm of Despair
7. Hollow Eyes
8. The Enslavement
9. Heirs of Torment
10. Endgame
11. Inside Out

Distant Lineup:

Alan Grnja - Vocals
Nouri Yetgin - Guitar
Vladimir Golic - Guitar
Shainel Ramharakh - Drums
Elmer Maurits - Bass

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram