Eternity Of Death

Disgusting Perversion

On June 6th, 2020, DISGUSTING PERVERSION independently released "Eternity Of Death." DISGUSTING PERVERSION is a […]
By Cherie Wong
December 7, 2020
Disgusting Perversion - Eternity Of Death album cover

On June 6th, 2020, DISGUSTING PERVERSION independently released "Eternity Of Death." DISGUSTING PERVERSION is a Death Metal band based out of Germany that formed back in 2013. In 2015, they released an EP titled "Morbid Obsessions." After several years of live performances and gaining an underground following, they have released their debut full-length album "Eternity Of Death." A few short months after its release, the band and the album gained the attention of MDD Records and Black Sunset, hence this review and another release in a CD format on October 30, 2020.

The band promo describes the band as a mixture of DEATH, BOLT THROWER, and GRAVE, and I couldn't agree more. DISGUSTING PERVERSION has all the swagger of BOLT THROWER, the technical brilliance of DEATH, and the guitar tone of GRAVE. Much of this is apparent even from the opening track "Cosmic Circle." After a quick bass intro, wave after wave of riffs begin and don't end until the end of the album. "The Forgotten Grave" shows the punk roots of death metal with those d-beat drumbeat and some technical guitar licks reminiscent of DEATH. "Impressions Of Life" is a quick and restrained instrumental track; a pretty good palate cleanser. On "Depression", what stood out to me were the two guitar solos, a more technical tapping one and a more melodic one right after.

The rest of the tracks continue in much the same way. Tracks like "Encrypted Brutality Of Life" show the band's songwriting and musicianship. The guitar riffs and licks can be quite intricate or melodic. While they can be repetitive in a few tracks, the songs tend not to overstay their welcome in terms of length. The tracks on the album also don't lean towards too fast or too slow. For instance, on "Dead Man's Face", the intro is slow and heavy, but it quickly increases to an energetic fast pace.

Overall, I recommend DISGUSTING PERVERSION to fans of Old School Death Metal. The riffs, heaviness, and pace of that early stuff is all here. The production is better than the old bands, but the album doesn't lose any grittiness because of it. This is only a debut album, so I look forward to hearing how they develop their sound.

7 / 10









When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"Eternity Of Death" Track-listing:

1. Cosmic Circle
2. The Forgotten Grave
3. Eternity Of Death
4. Impressions Of Life
5. Depression
6. Encrypted Brutality Of Life
7. Dead Man's Face
8. Rotting Bride
9. Apud Vultum Tuum

Disgusting Perversion Lineup:

Stefan Bauer - Vocals
Tobias Ruf - Guitars/Vocals
Simon Hörmann - Guitars
Marcus Nagel - Drums
Andreas Gabriel - Bass

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram