The year of conception was 2002, in the winter months of Greece. After many lineup […]
By Jessica Pearman
April 10, 2015
Devathorn - Vritra album cover

The year of conception was 2002, in the winter months of Greece. After many lineup changes this Black Metal band rests as a trio. DEVATHORN has released two previous records; One in 2007 "Diadema" and a full-length in 2010 "418-ATh IAV". They are back with their second full-length album "Vritra" that was released in late February. The guys find writing influenced by theories of primordial, pan-dimensional, and lawless chaos. "Vritra" comes in with eleven tracks and a listening time of just a hair over 64 minutes.

The album starts with "Veritas Universalis", which like many Black Metal albums, a low gospel churchy undertone, which transforms in to a gloomy exaggerated sound to quickly come in hard and biting. The drums are typical blast beats, but also incorporate some gorgeous drum work that breaks up the monotony of the same blast beats over again. There are also some incredible guitar riffs throughout the six and half-minute piece, leaving the track feeling perfectly heavy, but shows extreme technicality. The bass is an integral piece of a very intimate puzzle. The track boasts heavy and low hitting bass lines that are impressive and complimentary to the rest of the track. The vocals are hard, guttural, and barking. He is clearly screaming, but they are so incredibly low it turns to a bark that is undeniably sepulchral.

"Cathedral of Set" is an oddball track that I really enjoyed. It doesn't hold true to the rest of the album, but the creative understanding in the track is there. The overall sound is much less dark in this track. However, the darkness is still there and still heavy, just not as unearthly. The riff-age is wondrous and I truly believe the guitars in this piece create difference that emanates through the track. The track starts of with an acoustic that hurriedly turns dark. The drum work moves from hard to soft and back again creating its own compliment to itself. The bass is less noticeable than the rest of the track but still good in its center placements. The vocals are still has guttural and spitting as the rest of the album, leaving "Cathedral of Set" dark and menacing.

The ten-minute beauty "Promethean Descent" is the albums hefty finisher, although it is not their last track. "Promethean Descent", https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LIpGkHZk-Nk, is able to show off all of the bands musicianship in one track without changing their sound at all. The ebbs and flows, the softness and the hardness all complete the track in one amazing production.

The final track "Draco Adligat Mundi" is the perfect closer. It softly ends the brutality of what is "Vritra". A pure two minutes of whispered murmurs of darkness within the low choir chants. Beautiful.

DEVATHORN released a great album with "Vritra". The vocals are unique and the musicianship is harmonious. A have always tipped my hat to trios, for the work they have to put into it is so great. These guys too, get the tip of my hat. "Vritra" is a great album and if you love black metal, I urge you to take a listen.<

8 / 10


When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"Vritra" Track-listing:

1. Veritas Universalis
2. Doctrina Fide
3. Cathedral of Set
4. Ars Diaboli
5. Cantibus Ad Messorem, Sanctus Mors
6. Principles of Chaos
7. Sapphires of Vritra
8. Verba Inermis
9. The Venomous Advent
10. Promethean Descent
11. Draco Adligat Mundi

Devathorn Lineup:

Althagor - Vocals
Saevus - Guitars, Bass
Mechblastess - Drums

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram