Fire Music

Danko Jones

Danko Jones in Canada founded DANKO JONES in 1996. They toured northeastern US and Canada […]
By Jessica Pearman
March 7, 2015
Danko Jones - Fire Music album cover

Danko Jones in Canada founded DANKO JONES in 1996. They toured northeastern US and Canada opening for various acts throughout their first two years. They then released a self-titled EP with six tracks. Here we are, almost 20 years and twelve albums later, and they are releasing "Fire Music". With this release, come some blasts from the past and some trailblazing of the future. With new drummer Rich Knox in tow, DANKO JONES veterans Danko Jones and John Calabrese, have created some of the most "incendiary, fierce, and downright pissed-off songs DANKO JONES has ever committed to tape". (DANKO JONES)

"Fire Music" comes in with eleven tracks and a hair under 35 minutes of listening time. This rock album is thought to just carry on with their almost 20 year lineage. "Danko sang back in 1996 by way of introduction, "if you got the guts, well, light my match." Eighteen years later on "Fire Music", that offer still stands". (DANKO JONES)

This album starts as hard as it finishes. We are talking modern Rock with old school elements, mixed with a Grungy sound here. Now, don't get me wrong, this isn't a grunge album by any means, but there is Grunge aspects littered throughout. Whether they are writing about the darkest of things, or the lightest of things, the tracks are Hard Rock, and with love to the bass, I enjoyed the majority of the tracks produced on "Fire Music".

A few tracks that were instant hits were "Live Forever", "The Twisting Knife", and "I Will Break Your Heart". Each has different components that make them stand out. "Live Forever" was more bass heavy, which is instant love for me. The vocals are a little more popish on this track, but not so much so that it takes too much away from the overall sound. "The Twisting Knife" has some pretty cryptic lyrics, which is also something else that I am into. "I Will Break Your Heart" is the slower of the tracks, but it doesn't stay that way long. I love how they wrote this track. It starts soft and the feelings stay soft, but the music engulfs that softness into a much hard track.

The musicianship is brilliant throughout "Fire Music". Musically, this Rock album does blend old and new beautifully. The vocals are interesting. The range is phenomenal but interesting as to where they use it. It was pretty creative. People who like the heavy guitar riffs and bass with a hint of Grunge will love this album. Rock on DANKO JONES, Rock on.<

9 / 10

Almost Perfect

When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"Fire Music" Track-listing:

1. Wild Woman
2. The Twisting Knife
3. Gonna Be a Fight Tonight
4. Body Bags
5. Live Forever
6. Do you Wanna Rock
7. Getting into Drugs
8. Watch you Slide
9. I Will Break Your Heart
10. Piranha
11. She Ain't Coming Home

Danko Jones Lineup:

Danko Jones - Vocals, Guitar
John Calabrese - Bass
Rich Knox - Drums

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram