Ukrainian band D.HATE have recently released their latest album 'L.I.F.E' which is insanely full of […]
By Claire Taylor
May 4, 2015
D.Hate - L.I.F.E album cover

Ukrainian band D.HATE have recently released their latest album 'L.I.F.E' which is insanely full of surprises and unexpected elements to their music. Being classed as Death/Groove Metal, I couldn't help being sceptical of this as I don't think that the Groove part, plays a big enough part in their music to be used as a genre label. D.HATE uphold the use of aggressive, deep and fearsome vocals, rolling guitar riffs and a fast and heavy drumming style.

I can safely say that their sound is very raw and involves quite a lot of Grind influences to give this album such a modern and aggressive vibe. Incorporating spontaneous vocals sounds and compositions, they focus greatly on the power of Moiseienko Makysm's vocals. Despite this, I can't help but think that this album sounds somewhat disjointed. They include some really good opening riffs and breaks yet the direction of the music seems a bit vague.

On the other hand, it's got to be said that they are obviously very skilled with their musicianship and seem pretty tight as a band.  Makysm accomplishes a variety of vocal styles that make it easy for me to establish them as perhaps a Grind-style band. Tracks like 'Resurrected' allow him to show off the multitude of styles with regards to vocals. High squeals and low rumbling, aggressive vocals are what makes D.HATE pretty crazy to listen to. You don't know what to expect next. It was in their first track 'Cobra' where I got to understand the Groove part of their desired genre as the bass line halfway through allowed me to grasp an element of the Groove Metal genre.

However, I must still stand by what I said with regards to their overall drive. They incorporate a few styles and genres into their music yet don't seem to stick to one direction which makes it difficult to understand their sound on a more basic level. Having said this, I must credit them as the musicianship of each member is very much noticeable in this album.

5 / 10


When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"L.I.F.E" Track-listing:

1. Cobra
2. District Hate
3. F.F.
4. Gentle War
5. Lunacy
6. Provocation
7. Resurrected
8. Splitmind
9. Superman
10. X3

D.Hate Lineup:

Moiseienko Maksym - Vocals
Polyak Andriy - Guitar
Zolotarev Dmitrij - Bass

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram