Enter into the hallowed halls of insanity and you will be greeted by the disorienting […]
By Quinten Serna
June 8, 2019
Coma - Disorder album cover

Enter into the hallowed halls of insanity and you will be greeted by the disorienting discord of pounding drums and crushing guitars, it is within these walls that lay the sacrosanct musical musings of COMA; within the torrent of speed of and raw form exists the band's soundscape centered between the pillars of raw aggression and melodic drive. Hailing from Cagliari, Sardinia COMA sets itself apart from other acts by not only having a classic feel to their music but also offering unique approaches, such as when they bring in more melodic and slow leads to be played over insanely quick rhythms and completely change the dynamic of a song only to revert back a section later and repeat the process.

The greatest item offered by "Disorder" is the overall versatility of the album wherein no two songs sound the same, yet all carry the same attitude and voicings such that they are never too different to draw disinterest in the tracks. From the dynamic buildup of "Cursed to Mankind" to the slower and more contained verses of "Buried" the band isn't afraid to explore varying avenues of approach. "Ropes" is one of the faster songs on the album and begins with a quote from Fargo pontificating that good is the problem with the world as no one cares about evil-the song then diverges into a melodic riff before changing its step to a faster thrashing rhythm, the dynamics of the song are of amazing construction constantly shifting between slower and faster passages without any sudden stops or starts.

"Blood Fades to Ice" has about itself a classic feel, sounding as though it were pulled straight out of the 80s during the burgeoning of thrash metal; the song commences with a single guitar recorded in low fidelity playing a tremolo based riff before changing its course to a slightly slower rhythm for the verse. The instrumentation plays off of each other with mastery with the drums accenting the guitars' emphasized chords and the biting rhythm of the guitars perfectly coinciding with every drum hit. "Trained to Pain" continues this motif by offering a speed riff coupled with unrelenting drums and powerful screaming vocalizations, the break offers a respite from the speed fueled progressions whilst a melodic solo rings out only to return to the hurried succession where faster solos ensue.

The album is held in excellent production and composition being constructed with a focus on versatility and delivery in which it meets both without equal. I found myself astonished at what I had heard on the record never knowing the band before, not only is it a piece that could have come straight out the height of Thrash Metal but also very much something of modern construction a perfect mix of the two concepts that together define the band, "Coma."

8 / 10









"Disorder" Track-listing:

1. Cursed to Mankind
2. Time
3. Ropes
4. Blood Fades to Ice
5. Nightmare
6. Ascending to Disorder
7.  FBH
8. Alive
9. Trained to Pain
10.  Buried

Coma Lineup:

Fabio Sinibaldi - Bass
Michele Sanna - Drums
Daniele Manca - Guitars
Antonio Sanna - Guitars and Vocals

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram