Doorways of Time


Described, quite aptly, as traditional metal displaying twin guitar and vocal harmonies, huge power chords […]
By Patrick McMahon
January 12, 2021
Butterfly - Doorways of Time album cover

Described, quite aptly, as traditional metal displaying twin guitar and vocal harmonies, huge power chords and a pounding rhythm section!!! BUTTERFLY brings it all to to the table, and more. Four seasoned vets of the music industry in many backgrounds brought this unique trip through a music landscape. Plenty of influence can be felt across the project, but it is all uniquely BUTTERFLY.

Out of the gate, "Desert Chase" opens your mind to an unprocessed metal world that will bring a smile to your face. Guitar leads dripping with tone and overdrive set the pace for the instant classic. Vocals are beautifully complimentary to the tone. You can hear the rumble of the bass guitar, almost definitely set to super low action to accentuate its timing with the drums. It is a near psychedelic experience for sure.

"Climbing A Mountain" has a pace and bounce that immediately brings you in to the groove. I especially enjoy this track for its well-defined bridge pieces, bringing a bounce and energy to the track that is hard to find. The shared vocal responsibilities of the band are especially apparent in this track, and it is very pleasant. The title "Doorways Of Time" brings me somewhere I didn't know I enjoyed. I didn't know you could head bang to trippy metal. I think maybe I need more time around records in this area of expertise.

"Heavy Metal Highway" feels as if it belongs in Hair / Glam Metal. Maybe a hint of the KISS influence? I dig it. It is very punchy and in your face, and that's what I appreciate about it. A chorus strung out with heavy lead guitar reverb is just what the track demands. Better yet, they sauce the whole track up with nasty asynchronous guitar solos with absolute distinction between players. Fantastic work! The album rounds off with "The Scorpion", an eerie instrumental track with plucky acoustics and some fantastic tonality.

BUTTERFLY is a promising band, with grooves and style to spare. If you need metal to kick back and chill to, I will tell you to give this album a try! Front to back it was very enjoyable. Serious kudos to them for keeping with old ways. Rock on!

7 / 10









When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"Doorways of Time" Track-listing:

1. Desert Chase
2. Climbing a Mountain
3. Doorways of Time
4. The Night is on its Way
5. No Body
6. The Sin
7. Heavy Metal Highway
8. Crawling
9. The Scorpion

Butterfly Lineup:

Rob Wog - Vocals, Drums
Phillip T. King - Guitar, Vocals
Luke Robertson - Guitars
Phil "Venom" Gresik - Bass, Vocals

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram