Bridge to Mars

Bridge to Mars

BRIDGE TO MARS is a Classic Rock/Hard Rock/Progressive act out of Stockholm, Sweden, formed in […]
March 24, 2016
Bridge to Mars - Bridge to Mars album cover

BRIDGE TO MARS is a Classic Rock/Hard Rock/Progressive act out of Stockholm, Sweden, formed in 2012. I believe that this is their debut long-play, and contains nine tracks. "Days that Never Came" is the opening track. There is a lot of "feel" here in this song and you are able to connect with it very easily. For me, it has notes of LED ZEPPELIN, perhaps not so much in the vocals, but in the music for sure. Still, the riff and time changes definitely hint at something more in the Progressive realm. The guitar solo is where the emotion really pours wide open. "Mirror Magic Spirits" has a soulful but gritty main riff that works well in combination with the key of the vocals. It has a positive, upbeat energy and begs that you swing along with it. "SuperFi Yourself" has a heavier, BLACK SABBATH feeling to it from the low, fuzzy, churning riff, though the vocals are not in that dark realm.

"In a White Light" sounds as if it would be based on the title. Amidst the heaviness, there is brightness and an airy quality to the passages where the main riff appeals. This song though is a bit trippier sounding, like some of the more psychedelic music of the 1970's. "Soulshine" is quicker and more in-your-face, with some phaser and wah-wah effects in the guitar. The verses are songs almost totally acapella, while the other instruments rest and then they come together big in the chorus.  "Amaze my Dreams" has a southern tinge to it, with a mid-tempo swing that is the kind of sound that has you tapping your foot along to the rhythm. The vocals are done in harmony in the verses, which gives the band more of a feeling of communion to me. "Jupiter's Dream" is more of a straightforward rocker with some advanced fretwork but with some real mysterious dystopia in the verses, which starkly contrasts with the more positive and happy sounding chorus.

"River of Dissolution" tells a more desperate tale of the end of days and the lack of concern for humans, and the music supports the feelings portrayed with a despondent riff and yearning for better times. The interlude with spoken word, are an ominous reminder of this event. Rounding out the review is "All This Time." It's unusual because it runs for nine minutes and is, by far, the longest song on the album. This song is the "Freebird" of the album. It's soft, warm and inviting, and there is a lot of emotion in the vocals. It builds with pure sentiment along the way before settling into a closing that is sublime. What I think the album does best, as a whole, is echo the times in the past where music was less complicated and freer in general. The soul of the album is what makes it enjoyable to listen to.<

7 / 10









"Bridge to Mars" Track-listing:

1. Days that Never Came
2. Mirror Magic Spirits
3. SuperFi Yourself
4. In a White Light
5. Soulshine
6. Amaze my Mind
7. Jupiter's Dream
8. River of Dissolution
9. All This Time

Bridge to Mars Lineup:

JJ Marsh - Guitars, Vocals
Thomas Broman - Drums, Cowbell
Robert Hansen - Bass

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram