Road to Victory

Black Night

From Uithoorn, Netherlands, a band that formed during nineteen-eighty-one entitled BLACK NIGHT returns with a […]
By Barbra Rose
December 8, 2020
Black Knight - Road to Victory album cover

From Uithoorn, Netherlands, a band that formed during nineteen-eighty-one entitled BLACK NIGHT returns with a June 26 2020 release "Road to Victory". The release opens with "Road to Victory," the title track.  As classic late nineteen-eighties perhaps early nineteen-nineties metal - perhaps similar to JUDAS PRIEST'S "Painkiller" or OZZY OSBOURNE releases of that age,  but, happily,  distorted guitars are more prominent through the mix. For lovers of classic late nineteen eighties metal - listeners will not be disappointed.

The lyrics to the opener involve military victory.  "Road to Victory" - as title track,  utilizes a music video presented by Pure Steel Records" with camera shots of soldiers fighting through World War II to support a pre-release of the song one month prior. The guitar solos stand out - and draw the listener's ear. The third album track, "Pendragon" opens with flange - almost as though to resemble the sound of an approaching helicopter(??) - whatever it would be, I love the guitar sound. The guitar solo, duo, ends in classic format - guitar harmonies - in honor of IRON MAIDEN and metal bands of a former day. However this is not old - but new-and pay homage to the style they love so much. Just after five minutes pass - the song ends with triplets, in four/four time, descending down the low "E" string - not musically difficult but musically innovative. I want to hear more of these triplets - but the song ends.

The fifth album track "My Beautiful Daughters" at about three minutes & fifteen seconds into the song, the guitars and bass pause - while drummer Rudo Plooy moves to sixteenth notes on the ride cymbal while Ron Heikens resume to gently set a mild groove.  The sounds are "pensively reflective" and leads slowly begin - with rhythm as well-one might say "comping" perhaps as much as scratching through accidental rhythms-that are both soothing and pleasing.  By about four minutes & twenty seconds-leads begin enough to make any metal head proud.  At about five minutes & five seconds or so - the full band returns - and with a vengeance - and re-enters with  welcome key change-almost reminiscent of KING DIAMOND'S "Sleepless Nights" but again this is new.  Now the leads are blistering. Before the song ends David Marcelis effortlessly, at least to the listener's ear, flexes his higher register. I've been waiting for this. This is GOOD.

"Crossing the Rubicon" the sixth album track is a rock ballad of the nineteen eightes style. "Primal Power" the seventh album track opens with rhythmic accented by drummer Rudo Plooy.   David Marcelis adds real dimension with his higher tones-and I hope to hear more.  Before the second verse - just under one minute & one half, the song returns to the original introductory riff - as I thrash my head.  The guitar solo is a duo and will catch our ear. As the solo finishes - the guitars modify the original riff - and I like this. The song ends with a recap of the original riff and a scream from  David Marcelis honoring Rob Halford. "The One to Blame" the eighth tune of the album the closing track is a bit faster. Ruben Raadschelders & Gertjan Vis command the listener's ear on this and every song on the release.

9 / 10

Almost Perfect








When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"Road to Victory" Track-listing:

1. Road to Victory
2. Legend
3. Pendragon
4. Thousand Faces
5. My Beautiful Daughters
6. Crossing the Rubicon
7. Primal Power
8. The One to Blame

Black Night Lineup:

David Marcelis - Vocals
Ruben Raadschelders - Guitars
Gertjan Vis - Guitars
Ron Heikens - Bass
Rudo Plooy - Drums

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram