Magia Posthuma: The Inmost Darkness - Second Phenomenon

Black Goat

BLACK GOAT has returned with a new release titled "Magia Posthuma" and reigns as a […]
By Lianne Molon
February 15, 2019
Black Goat - Magia Posthuma: The Inmost Darkness - Second Phenomenon album cover

BLACK GOAT has returned with a new release titled "Magia Posthuma" and reigns as a bestial and ceremonial themed soundtrack to the nuclear apocalypse. Hints of ambient, Dungeon Synth sounding instruments are weaved in and out of the record, between nasty, crude vocals, and trademark "bestial Black Metal" sound comparable to bands such as WEREGOAT, CONQUEROR and BESTIAL WARLUST.

However, the commotion doesn't stop there. Every so often, instruments lead into a harrowing ritualistic trance that occupies a fair quantity of the album's length. Without boring the listener, the vocals and guitars make their booming, demonic return. It is an interesting piece of Black Metal in terms that not a lot of typical Black Metal standards are met. It does not represent the general style of constant tremolo picking and high pitched shrieks, but rather, delves into another realm known as the ceremonial "bestial" extremism that is well known among common listeners of the genre. The profound, abysmal vocals emphasize the material being dealt with, and with lyrics prying at war, death, and satan, the album is sure to put a devious smile on the faces of Black Metal fans, with its evil, blood-soaked twinges of undeniable sin and hatred.

The album succeeds at being different by using multiple instruments besides percussion, guitars, bass and vocals, including an occasional blasphemous religious interlude to provoke the devil hidden within each and every one of the listeners. An example of this would be track 2 - titled "Black Goat / Omen Perditionis." While atmospheric and dismal, the track has the effect of feeling as if you're buried six feet underground, or at best, about to be sacrificed to Satan himself upon an altar surrounded by worshippers of such practices. The album's flawless transition between daunting hymns and soft, melodic guitar into a thunderous, arising storm hurled into an alert siren is seen on track 7, "Salvation and Forgiveness."

One of the many reasons for which I point of this song includes the mysterious date listed in the parenthesis. What could have occurred on that date? Many things, one can assume. In reality, it is based on none other than the notorious Jim Jones, who encouraged 918 people to commit suicide by cyanide poisoning. The track introduces a chaotic scene filled with distant screams, mass suicide, and the devastation of the world around them. It proves that there is clearly no happy ending for those destined for a painful, unfortunate death.

Returning right back into the musical aspect, the final track "Ghoul Grave" can be seen as more of a revolting chant of the dead rather than a spine-chilling ceremonial track. The efforts of this record have been achieved at great lengths, and ending on a mischievous, devilishly playful note have only enhanced what's been portrayed by spirits, death and pain throughout this eerie and diabolical journey. Unexpected work, but I say that with much respect and sheer excitement.

9 / 10

Almost Perfect








When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"Magia Posthuma: The Inmost Darkness - Second Phenomenon" Track-listing:

1. Ascension Of Golden Lilith
2. Black Goat/Omen Perditionis
3. Magia Posthuma
4. Reap The Harvest
5. Show Me The Wrath
6. Serpent Messiah
7. Salvation And Forgiveness (18-11-1978)
8. Ghoul Grave

Black Goat Lineup:

IX - Instruments/Vocals

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram