Heavy Metal Sanctuary


BATTLEAXE are a Heavy Metal band from the UK formed in 1979. Prominent in the development […]
By Iron Mathew
January 29, 2014
Battleaxe - Heavy Metal Sanctuary album cover

BATTLEAXE are a Heavy Metal band from the UK formed in 1979. Prominent in the development of the NWOBHM during the early 1980's, they released two studio albums and one live album before disbanding in the early 1990's. The band have now reformed and are set to release their new album early in 2014.

Featuring two of the original band members Dave King and Brian Smith, the new album has a very British, very traditional, Heavy Metal sound, clearly evident in the bombastic album opener "Heavy Metal Sanctuary", nodding its head to the NWOBHM in blistering fashion. "Shock And Awe" is full of foot tapping chunky guitar riffs while "Hail To The King" is a top notch rampage of classic pounding heavy metal further strengthening the resurgence of the NWOBHM sound in modern day metal.

Throughout the album you can hear influences from many other great bands such as SAXON, ACCEPT, RUNNING WILD and even AC/DC. "Rebel With A Cause" is a blast of Power Metal mixed with Hard Rock, while the eerie atmospheric intro to "Give It More" gives way to a hard rock AC/DC sounding stomp. Upping the tempo is the blistering "Too Hot For Hell". Superb guitar solos, solid rhythms and a catchy sing-a-long chorus make this a stand out song on the album. "Revolution" is a mid tempo hard rock romp with a great guitar sound.

"Prelude To Battle / The Legions Unite" is a superb foot stomping mid tempo epic with a great vocal performance and some blistering guitar work. This song will surely become a crowd favourite with its catchy "legions" chant. "Spirits Of The Fallen" embodies everything that the NWOBHM has become famous for as it gallops on relentlessly. "Devil Calls" is a superb slab of hard rock and sparkling guitar solos while acoustic guitars introduce "Kingdom Come" which isn't a ballad but stomps at the pace of a ballad. The album closes with the up tempo, almost party Metal sounding "Romeo".

Overall, a superb slab of NWOBHM sounding Heavy Metal with blistering guitar riffs and solos. This is old school Metal worthy of a place in the modern era.


10 / 10


When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"Heavy Metal Sanctuary" Track-listing:

1. Heavy Metal Sanctuary
2. Shock And Awe
3. Hail To The King
4. Rebel With A Cause
5. Give It More
6. Too Hot For Hell
7. Revolution
8. Prelude To Battle/The Legions Unite
9. Spirits Of The Fallen
10. Devil Calls
11. Kingdom Come
12. Romeo

Battleaxe Lineup:

Dave King - Vocals
Brian Smith - Bass
Mick Percy - Guitar
Paul AT Kinson - Drums

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram