Dead To This World

Arma Gathas

The band's name didn't ring any bell the first time I saw this promo, but […]
By Yiannis Dafopoulos
May 16, 2010
Arma Gathas - Dead To This World album cover

The band's name didn't ring any bell the first time I saw this promo, but the line up surely did. A fresh band (formed in 2006) delivers its debut full-length album through Metal Blade Records and I guess that people like Che Snelting (BORN FROM PAIN), Simon Fulleman (CATARACT) and Marc Niedersberg (MACHINEMADE GOD, KORODED) will probably know how to handle their artistic visions and produce a more than just decent Metal album. But I will be able to answer this after I have listened to "Dead To This World".

Why did these musicians unite? To form a band that will gather all their personal influences and musical roots and turn them into a war machine. Even though I thought that I would ran into a Death Metal beast after what I had read in their bio sheet, I realized that ARMA GATHAS may draw some minor influences from the modern Death Metal scene, but they prefer Hardcore and the more "macho" sound of the German Metalcore scene. The influences from the members' previous bands is kind of unavoidable as it seems, since I noticed many CATARACT and BORN FROM PAIN elements in their music, but definitely not so much that end up being "irritating". What really helps the band is the strong and solid as fuck sound that helps the songs unveil their true strength.

All in all, "Dead To This World" is nothing amazing, nothing more than a nice Hardcore/Metalcore album. The fact is that it will surely have something to offer to fans of this genre. If you are into that shit, then check them out.

6 / 10

Had Potential

"Dead To This World" Track-listing:
  1. Antagonist
  2. The Rise And Fall
  3. Losing Hope
  4. The Lies Of Man
  5. The Damage Done
  6. Liberate Me
  7. Depopulation
  8. New Savior
  9. Generation Doom
  10. Protagonist
  11. God's Wrath
  12. Constant Hunt For Blood
  13. Our Last Goodbye - Our Final Breath
Arma Gathas Lineup:

Che Snelting - Vocals
Simon Fullemann - Guitar
Marc Niedersberg - Guitar
Alex "Lahnsteiner" Hartel - Bass
Max Van Winkelhof - Drums

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram