Ex Nihilo


Metal maniacs, rejoice! I am proud to present to you: ANZILLU; signed via M-Theory Audio, […]
March 21, 2023
Anzillu - Ex Nihilo album cover

Metal maniacs, rejoice! I am proud to present to you: ANZILLU; signed via M-Theory Audio, hailing from Finnish grounds - performing Thrash Metal, on their debut full-length studio album entitled: "Ex Nihilo" (released 27/01/2023). Since formation in 2019; the quartet in question have only this here debut full-length studio record in their discography so far, 9 tracks ranging around 39:59; ANZILLU arrange an intricately designed formula on some heavy-hitting Thrash Metal developments.

Opening up with this blistering bombardment in belting rampage; "Needles (On My Nerves)" ramifies with razor-sharp remedy that bulldozes eardrums with wildly rushing rage, bludgeoning heads boisterously as bouncy barrage frenzies fabricates at an amplified adrenaline on riveting rips that shred relentlessly which surges meatily with thudding sturdiness while rollicking with slaying grinds from guitar duo Jesse Kämäräinen & Jesse Kämäräinen. Both twin viciously which stampedes maliciously, where trailblazing hooks frolic intensely as chugging vascularity showcases this organic substance on primitively raw agility - distilling a dense fabrication on steamrolling pandemonium that's most killer. "Mental Graveyard" distinctively attributes with rumbling reverberation which portrays trembling vehemence & versatile swiftness, where rapidly nimble synergy manifests with technical pursuits that's sulfurous yet striking.

"Trumpets Of War" injects an infectiously volatile momentum on pile driving rambunctiousness; where thumpy stomps from audible bassist Rasmus Kantonen slabs this solidly ruthless foundation in borderline fabrications of profusely robust rompiness that rampantly rifts with sonically seamless stability, merging this tight weight on punchline grooves and monolithic tempo that's a galloping forge in fierce firepower expertise which will make you want to break chairs over other chairs in no time. "The Cleansing Flame" conjures up more salubrious mayhem; unleashing virtuoso calamity and crunchy hooks in concretely gritty heft, as berserking empowerment harnesses a dexterously dynamic intensity that's maniacally diabolical but battering in every sense.

"Discordia" distributes a crescendo building haste on tremolo raising finesse; demonstrating a creatively complex distinguishment on killer riffs and choppy grips, as distorted gnarliness compiles chunky harmonies that renegades with venomously meticulous tonnage & melody... of the experimentally hybrid kind. As flamboyant stridency strife with radically wicked retribution, especially in the mid-tempo "Dauntless". This savagely sinister swerve on stumpy technicality merges punk thrash technicality groove-bombs with trailblazing significance within "Splinter in the Mind's Eye"; where catchy conundrums drills into your soul and brain as an all guns blazing furore heralds a firing all cylinder assimilations that's most mayhemic but exhilarating all round.

The penultimate revver "Vulture" articulates in archaic archetypes in flexible fundamentals of unique technicalities which pierces through you to rock hard and heavy, while the overall concluding banger: "Ex Nihilo" finishes off the record with an 8-minute spectacle on vivacious soundwaves of metallic progression that's most desecrating amongst immersive inventive for good combustion. Persistently persevering with wrathful yet meticulously chaotic havoc, an immeasurable conjuration of Thrash Metal prolifics revels with strong tactics on groundbreaking instrumental exuberance that's most thriving and all the while serving this subgenre with prodigious silver-lining.

The bottom line here is that ANZILLU most surely outdone themselves with "Ex Nihilo"; a complexly creative assimilation on masterclass Thrash Metal madness that will surely start your day off rightly with should you need a healthy dose and hardened boost for gym motivation, worthy of spinning & replaying a good bunch of times - do check it out.

8 / 10









"Ex Nihilo" Track-listing:

1. Needles (On My Nerves)
2. Mental Graveyard
3. Trumpets of War
4. The Cleansing Flame
5. Discordia
6. Dauntless
7. Splinter in the Mind's Eye
8. Vulture
9. Ex Nihilo

Anzillu Lineup:

Rasmus Kantonen - Bass
Jesse Kämäräinen - Guitar
Sami Katajainen - Guitar
Teemu Kemppainen - Vocals

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram