ANFINNSAAS is a Metal band based out of Norway. This is the band's debut EP, […]
November 29, 2015
Anfinnsaas - Anfinnsaas album cover

ANFINNSAAS is a Metal band based out of Norway. This is the band's debut EP, and contains six tracks. From their Facebook page, they describe themselves as an "earthshattering blend of Nordic traditional music and Metal...buzzing guitars and thunderous audio apocalypse." When you think of music from Norway, images of Black Metal or Prog Metal usually come to mind...but not here. Musically this is on a pretty unique part of the spectrum. "Svensk Revelje" barely qualifies as out of the noise genre. It's a drop tuned exercise in almost free flowing musical composition with little structure and no vocals. I am a little unsure as to what I am hearing here.

The title track is atmospheric in nature with a little Black Metal rhythm as a side dish. The production is muted and the tuning of the instruments is a bit design? "Halandsal" continues in this vein with another drawn out instrumental that bears little in terms of a pattern. I am all for eclectic music but this takes that phrase to another level. Nearly devoid of melody and a discernable riff, I find myself wondering where the composition is going. At first when I read that there are only two musicians with guitar and drums being the only medium, I figured there were session musicians covering the other instruments. But I was mistaken. Guitar and drums are the only instruments present here.

"Elve" is an interesting piece as well. At five minutes in length, it doesn't begin to establish much of a sound until a few minutes in. "Spissrot" closes the EP, eleven minutes in length. There is an extended lead-in that slowly builds. Halfway through more of a structure is established and that carries through to the end. Overall it is difficult to really qualify this EP in terms of a musical review, because there was just not enough in the musical spectrum to contribute here.

5 / 10


When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"Anfinnsaas" Track-listing:

1. Svensk Revelje
2. Anfinnsaas
3. Halandsdal
4. Slatt Fra Rostad
5. Elve
6. Spissrot

Anfinnsaas Lineup:

Knut Finsaas - Guitar
Gein Anfinn Halland Johansen - Drums

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram