Further from Eternity


ANCHORITE is a multi-national Doom Metal project formed in recent years. "Further from Eternity" is […]
November 5, 2020
Anchorite - Further from Eternity album cover

ANCHORITE is a multi-national Doom Metal project formed in recent years. "Further from Eternity" is the band's debut album, to be released November 20, 2020. The album contains eight tracks. "The Blood of the Anchorite" leads off the album. It opens with a slow, fuzzy sound, and SABBATH-esque vocals. The riffing is fairly simple for me, however. Without the use of harsh vocals, the music sort of becomes a bit one-dimensional. I nice guitar solo rounds out the sound.

"Of Dark Destinies" is close to eight minutes in length. It opens with a slow, chugging riff. The vocals are lamenting but again the riff is just too simple for me. The guitar solo is once again well done. An ambient passage occupies the later section of the song, done with melancholy tones. "Like a River Through the Snow" is a little shorter, beginning with solemn clean guitar tones. The main riff hits and there are some vocal harmonies. Though the riff isn't something that you haven't heard before, there is some passion here in this song.

"Alone with the Horrors" is the shortest song on the album, opening with a hastened pace and a glittering guitar solo. From there, the riffing varies a bit, showing that the band is not a one-trick pony. Some harsh vocals mix in with the cleans, creating a harrowing sound. The whispered clean vocals and guitar solo add another element to the music. "Valhalla Awaits" is the longest on the album, at just under ten-minutes in length. Opening with despondent clean guitars, and depressive vocals. It's mostly a sad affair but there is a bit of a disconnect in the keys between the vocals and the riffs. Overall, this is an odd song with some moments of pleasure.

"Ebbing the Tide" begins with a dark, grinding riff before settling into a smooth but lamenting sound. The chord progressions here are a bit odd and again there is a disconnect with the vocals at times. "Dragons" opens with a slow, marching sound, and some dark tones. The chorus is full on with some harsh vocals mixed in. Following the chorus, it picks up in pace, sounding a bit like old JUDAS PRIEST to me. "Further from Eternity" closes the album. It opens with a slow groove, and moves forward slowly from there, with some dark tones and two more solid guitar solos.

What the band has working for them is their lead guitarist for sure. But, old patterns of riffing are recycled here, and they don't offer much in the way of anything new to the genre. This is OK if you are OK with old formulas, but I always like something new in an album for me. I would say that overall, it's just mediocre for me, because they don't move the genre forward, and rely on things that have already been done.

5 / 10









"Further from Eternity" Track-listing:

1. The Blood of the Anchorite
2. Of Dark Destinies
3. Like a River Through the Snow
4. Alone with the Horrors
5. Valhalla Awaits
6. Ebbing Tide
7. Dragons
8. Further from Eternity

Anchorite Lineup:

Leo Stivala - Vocals
Martin Jepsen Andersen - Guitars
Peter Svensson - Bass
Marcus Rosenkvist - Drums

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram