Amberian Dawn

Just over a year after their enchanting release "Magic Forest" Finnish Symphonic Metal outfit AMBERIAN […]
By Lotty Whittingham
October 27, 2015
Amberian Dawn - Innuendo album cover

Just over a year after their enchanting release "Magic Forest" Finnish Symphonic Metal outfit AMBERIAN DAWN have released a brand new album into the midst. The album in question is the whimsical "Innuendo" and it brings more of a Hard Rock element to the table with its memorable melodies, capricious guitar riffs and enthralling tunes from the synthesisers.

This also happens to be the third studio album with Heidi Parviainen's replacement Capri where she provides her unique warm voice to AMBERIAN DAWN's already majestic sound. This also happens to be the first album with new bassist Jukka Hoffrén after the departure of Jukka Koskinen.

The album gets off to a rather glorious start via the track "Fame & Gloria" where you are instantly given the taste of their miraculous sound of audacious sweeping heroic melodies. A lot of the tunes even remind one of a Metal Fairy Tale or grand fantasy escapade. The second track "Ladyhawk" could easily be the opening of a video game or just a level alone; this same logistic comes to mind when the tracks "The Court Of Mirror Hall" and "Chamber Of Dreadful Dreams" are heard on the system, even the song titles alone would provide an ideal level names.

A great emphasis on the album was the ballad "Angelique" with it's beautiful, child like melody that is completely stripped of the distortion and heaviness. It's majestic, grand and just spectacular; it particularly highlights Capri's incredible vocal technique.
Another would be "Symphony Nr 1, Part 1 - The Witchcraft"; it is the metal fairy tale of the album which provides a dark yet delightful presence in the air. The listener may even find themselves bobbing up and down to this exquisite tune.

The album ends on more than a high note with the closing ballad "Your Time - My Time" which marks the conclusion of another enchanting album. If you wish to hear whimsical melodies and beautiful melodies then give this album a spin.

9 / 10

Almost Perfect

When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"Innuendo" Track-listing:

1. Fame & Gloria
2. Ladyhawk
3. Innuendo
4. The Court Of Mirror Hall
5. Angelique
6. Rise Of The Evil
7. Chamber Of Dreadful Dreams
8. Knock Knock Who's There
9. Symphony Nr 1, Part 1 - The Witchcraft
10. Your Time - My Time

Amberian Dawn Lineup:

Tuomas Seppälä - Guitars, Keyboards, Orchestral Arrangements on tracks 5 and 9
Capri - Vocals
Emil Pohjalainen - Guitars
Jukka Hoffrén - Bass
Joonas Pykälä-aho - Drums

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram