Shadow Way

All Things Fallen

ALL THINGS FALLEN was started in 2017 by Markus Sigfridsson (DARKWATER, HARMONY, LANCE KING, etc). Now […]
April 26, 2022
All Things Fallen - Shadow Way album cover

ALL THINGS FALLEN was started in 2017 by Markus Sigfridsson (DARKWATER, HARMONY, LANCE KING, etc). Now their second album "Shadow Way" will be released through Blackoak Records and distributed by Beyond the Storm Productions worldwide. "Old fans will certainly not be disappointed and any fan of Melodic Atmospheric Metal will enjoy this album. The album is even more melancholic and melodic and has a darker vibe to it than the first album. The lyrics often deals with contemporary events and issues in our world." The album contains nine tracks.

"The Sentinel" opens the album. The opening riff is fairly straightforward, but also powerful and catchy. The vocals are clean, and harmonic in the chorus. The guitar work is also fairly complex but also accessible at the same time. This was a strong opener. "Rebirth" begins with some heavy guitar effects and a faster moving riff. Keys are played in support. It has another catchy chorus and a combination of both light and dark elements, like deep grey clouds poking in and out of a blue sky. That guitar work after the second chorus is tight and adventurous. "Chaos System" is a short keyboard interlude under a minute in length.

"Pandemonium" begins with keyboards and a heavy guitar riff. It's heavy enough but also has a healthy dose of melody. The clean guitar passage near the half-way mark is hardened by a heavier passage after. "Path of Dismay" opens with heavy organ notes like you might hear in a church, followed by harmonic lead guitars, and a steady, pulsing riff. The Progressive elements are dialed up here along with some strings, and the full, rich sound is very pleasing. "Narcissistic Ritual" begins with a darker sound. The chorus isn't quite as dark but grey elements mark the song. It also features some Symphonic elements but they are light in their application.

"Kiss of Death" opens with a groovy rhythm and some fanciful guitar work. As the title suggests, it's another dark song, like rolling up on a beautiful person only to discover later that they are not human and mean to do you harm. "Desert of the Real" is the longest on the album. It begins with keyboards and symphonic elements in the background. The vocal harmonies push the dark melody forward. The guitar solo is well done leading to a key change afterwards. The title track closes the album. Opening with an eerie key section, it segues into a heavy, grey riff. A slow grind ensues from there. The melodies are smooth but also just a little lackluster in their delivery.

One thing that the album has is pleasing melodies. They are dark, but pleasing nonetheless. Their musicianship is also excellent. What I think the album lacks are those big accents of melody that can energize you. It was a good listen, but I think there is room for improvement.

7 / 10









"Shadow Way" Track-listing:

1. The Sentinel
2. Rebirth
3. Chaos System
4. Pandemonium
5. Path of Dismay
6. Narcissistic Ritual
7. Kiss of Death
8. Desert of the Real
9. Shadow Way

All Things Fallen Lineup:

Markus Sigfridsson - Guitars, Bass, Keyboards/Programming
Leo Margarit - Drums
Erik Tordsson - Vocals
Raphael Dafras - Bass

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram