Darker Places

A Road To Damascus

Metal maniacs, rejoice! I am proud to present to you: A ROAD TO DAMASCUS; signed […]
April 18, 2023
A Road To Damascus - Darker Places album cover

Metal maniacs, rejoice! I am proud to present to you: A ROAD TO DAMASCUS; signed via Mighty Music Records, hailing from Denmark grounds - performing Alternative Rock, on their 3rd full-length studio album entitled: "Darker Places" (released 23rd of March, 2023). Since formation in 2009 the quartet in question have 3 full-length studio albums in their discography so far entitled: "A Road To Damascus" (released 25th September, 2011), "In Retrospect" (released 25th of August, 2014) & this here third offering of which I am introduced to entitled: "Darker Places". 9 tracks ranging around 27:33; A ROAD TO DAMASCUS arranges an intricately designed formula on some heavy-hitting Alternative Rock developments.

Opening up with this blistering barrage frenzy on rampantly rompy thuds of sturdy riffage; this synthetic remedy within "Sirens" unearths this rhythmic melody of monolithic tempo & distinctively distilled density in a desolate experimentation of riveting harmony, attributing an echoing flamboyant on archaic archetypes in easy-listening rock transparencies that utilises versatile vehemence & zestful songwriting musicianship that's most organic whilst venomously slabby. "Pariah" showcases systematic beatdowns and amplified adrenaline, fabricating a boisterously bouncy conundrum in hybrid, instrumental impact. Mikkel's vocals surges with throaty pipes of clean, cordial expertise... conjuring an elegantly exquisite element in implementing groovy distortion and catchy calamities for good measure.

"Head Above Water" features Andreas Bjulver Paarup from CABAL; injecting his own signature craft in bass audibility and aesthetic, rifting through with thumpy precision whilst this unique substance rumbles with reverberating synergy with flickering additional bassist: Jakob Munk. Both infectiously demonstrate a dynamic dexterity alongside the rapidly swift yet nimble strikes Mads Møller pursuits with; where "Paradise" forges a chunky foundation in euphonic mellow & rollicking ramifications on salubriously momentous maelstrom expertise, as choppy fabrications engage in an ethereal execution while still remaining pretty meaty.

"Promises" (featuring Christoffer Stjerne from HERO) executes at a creatively diverse crescendo and tremolo vibe whilst manifesting this majestic jamboree in a flexibly fundamental intrigue, harnessing a heralding entrance in guttural roars on top of some trembling melancholy mounted gloom...especially in "If It Happens". "Rising, Falling" showcases stompy rambunctiousness from hammering drummer Anders; smacking the set with steely stridency & punchy tightness, while chimeful hymns masquerade with this vibrantly potent synergy that's most apocalyptic but seamlessly stark whilst prodigiously angelic.

The penultimate banger "Don't Leave Me Waiting" has an artificial soundscape to it, in which overall closes "Darker Places" with this finale epic "Silent Statement" that makes me feel a bit underwhelmed judging the record length, my main critique here is probably just that & the overuse of emotive cords... While A ROAD TO DAMASCUS portrayed this sanguine sublimity to it, every song was around 2-4 minutes long... not a bad thing, just for a vibe of this calibre... a little bit more would have given me that wow factor - as every song was mostly forgetful. Innovative however; an avant-garde but ground-breaking pierce rolled through with malignant strife & persistent perseverance in an enjoyably entertaining discovery that will please those who will delight fans of this subgenre with no doubt. Worth experiencing only once however, do check it out.

7 / 10









"Darker Places" Track-listing:

01. "Sirens"
02. "Pariah"
03. "Head Above Water" (feat. Andreas Bjulver Paarup of CABAL)
04. "Paradise"
05. "Promises" (feat. Christoffer Stjerne of HERO)
06. "If It Happens"
07. "Rising, Falling"
08. "Don't Leave Me Waiting"
09. "Silent Statement"

A Road To Damascus Lineup:

Mikkel - Vocals
Mads Møller - Guitar
Jakob Munk - Bass
Anders - Drums

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram