Machine Head at Diamond Ballroom (2023)

Diamond Ballroom (Oklahoma City, OK, USA)

Machine Head
MACHINE HEAD raged in Oklahoma City at the Diamond Ballroom on Friday, December 16 as […]
December 16, 2023

MACHINE HEAD raged in Oklahoma City at the Diamond Ballroom on Friday, December 16 as one of the last several stops on their Electric Happy Hour tour. If any band could play a show by themselves, NO OPENERS, with a three-hour set, it would be MACHINE HEAD. Few bands can play such a long set without support from other bands to keep the crowd going, but they can pull it off with no problem.

They asked the crowd to choose a cover song for them to play and one of the options was "Shake It Off" by TAYLOR SWIFT. The crowd was less than thrilled for this choice, but they played it anyway. Well, just a snippet; ever the jokesters. The song they actually played was "Hallowed Be Thy Name" by IRON MAIDEN, which they cover on their new album "Of Kingdom and Crown." They played several songs from this album, as well as some fan favorites from previous albums and deep cuts, in addition to a couple other covers.

The crowd was one of the wildest I've seen at the Diamond Ballroom and the circle pits were going off all night. At one point Robb Flynn commands the crowd "Bigger, motherfuckers, bigger!" before leading into "I Am Hell." And I'm pretty sure the crowd did not disappoint. Crowd surfers were sailing across the barrier one after another keeping security busy throughout the night and it was definitely one of the most energetic crowds I've seen at this venue.

MACHINE HEAD posted on Facebook about the show:

"OKLAHOMA CITY!!!!  GOD DAYUUUUUUUMMM!!  Now THAT was Friday night for books!!  Easily, one of the craziest, rowdiest, loudest, most fun nights of the entire tour. The ladies were out in force, Jason was in the pit, slashing away, Santa Claus caps galore and the vibes between everyone all around was buttery. Hell, you may have beat crown champion Joliet Illinois for most merch sold in a single night! Thanks so much for the amazing time Oklahoma City!!"

I can personally attest to the low merch stock, because I made the mistake of waiting until  several songs into the night to hit up the booth and many shirt sizes were already taken. The whole night was an absolute blast and an unforgettable experience. This was not a tour to be missed.

Set list:

1. Imperium
2. Ten Ton Hammer
3. Choke on the Ashes of Your Hate
4. Now We Die
5. The Blood, the Sweat, and Tears
6. Locust
7. No Gods, No Masters
8. Hallowed Be Thy Name (IRON MAIDEN cover)
9. Old
10. I Am Hell (Sonata in C#)
11. Aesthetics of Hate
12. Arrows In Words From the Sky
13. Darkness Within
14. Catharsis
15. Bulldozer
16. From This Day
17. Davidian
18. South of Heaven (SLAYER cover)
19. Raining Blood (SLAYER cover)
20. Halo

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram