WEEDEATER: On the road in Europe

WEEDEATER are kicking off their European road trip at the Kavka, in Antwerpen, Belgium! The […]
March 7, 2015

WEEDEATER are kicking off their European road trip at the Kavka, in Antwerpen, Belgium! The notorious sludge outfit will continue to steam through five more countries until a final hit on the Burgerweeshuis in Deventer, Netherlands on the 15th of March. A full list of confirmed dates can be viewed below.

06 Mar 15 Antwerpen (BE) Kavka
07 Mar 15 Manchester (UK) Sound Control
08 Mar 15 London (UK) Underworld
09 Mar 15 Lille (FR) Aeronef
10 Mar 15 Paris (FR) Glazart
11 Mar 15 Geneva (CH) Usine
12 Mar 15 Bologna (IT) Freak Out
13 Mar 15 Stuttgart (DE) Juha West
14 Mar 15 Siegen (DE) Vortex Surfer
15 Mar 15 Deventer (NL) Burgerweeshuis

WEEDEATER have already reissued their 2007 album 'God Luck and Good Speed' on January 26th, 2015. The album is streaming here and is still available to be ordered via the Season of Mist shop. Tracklist of 'God Luck and Good Speed' is shown below.

1. God Luck and Good Speed
2. Wizard Fight
3. For Evan's Sake
4. Alone
5. $20 Peanut
6. It Is What It Is
7. Gimme Back My Bullets (Lynyrd Skynyrd cover)
8. Weed Monkey
9. Willow

WEEDEATER's following album 'Jason... The Dragon' (originally released in 2011) has also been available again since the 23rd of February 2015. The album can be ordered in various bundles and formats here.

Tracklist of 'Jason... The Dragon' can be viewed below.
01. The Great Unfurling
02. Hammerhandle
03. Mancoon
04. Turkey Warlock
05. Jason... The Dragon
06. Palms and Opium
07. Long Gone
08. March of the Bipolar Bear
10. Whiskey Creek

Season of Mist recently reissued WEEDEATER's first two albums, 'Sixteen Tons' and '...And Justice for Y'all'. The long out of print albums are now available on vinyl for the first time, as well as on CD and digitally at the Season of Mist shop, Bandcamp, and legal download & streaming platforms.

Furthermore the North Carolina-based band have finished recording their eagerly awaited new full-length album, which will be the first for Season of Mist, with their long-time engineer Steve Albini (HIGH ON FIRE, NEUROSIS, NIRVANA, HELMET). More details will soon be revealed in a future mailing.

The Bible Belt state of North Carolina, USA seems a fertile ground for hemp and stoner rock. When cult sludge act BUZZOV•EN called it a day, bass player Dave "Dixie" Collins teamed up with guitarist Dave "Shep" Shepherd and founded WEEDEATER in the harbor town of Wilmington about the year 1998. Their crushing and massive first full-length "!and Justice for Y'all" created an immediate buzz, while critics were struggling to put a tag on their sound. Nearly everybody agreed that stoner rock, doom, sludge and some crusty elements were part of the mix, which the band simply calls "weed metal". The debut was produced by renowned engineer Billy Anderson (EYEHATEGOD, NEUROSIS) as well as sophomore album "Sixteen Tons" (2002). WEEDEATER went out to perform live with CORROSION OF CONFORMITY and ALABAMA THUNDERPUSSY among others. After some detours of Dixie Dave, who played shortly with BONGZILLA and SOURVEIN, the third album "God Luck and Good Speed" hit the world in 2007 and shifted the band's focus slightly towards the stoner side. The latest full-length "Jason! the Dragon" got delayed when guitarist Shep lost a toe due to an incident with his favourite shotgun. When the sludge driven album finally came out in 2011 shows in the US and Europe cemented the band's reputation as a fierce live entity.

Season of Mist
linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram